cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need a Lan switch

darklight
Grafter
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎10-03-2013

Need a Lan switch

I have 1 lan cable coming into this room, and i have a pc and a ps3 and a ps4 in the same room, which is the
best easy to use gbit switch that i can connect my pc, ps3, ps4 off 1 lan cable the router is a asus rt-n66u i use.
Can anyone recommend one plzz
8 REPLIES 8
shure
Grafter
Posts: 509
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: Need a Lan switch

I have the baby brother of this which works fine.  Difference is mine is not Gigabit but I run my Xbox fine off it.
Strat
Community Veteran
Posts: 31,319
Thanks: 1,638
Fixes: 565
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Need a Lan switch

I have had a couple of these running on networks for nearly 3 years with no problems.
Switches tend to be completely transparent in use anyway.
Windows 10 Firefox 107.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
darklight
Grafter
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎10-03-2013

Re: Need a Lan switch

So i won't lose any download speed if i'm only using my pc through the switch, if ps3 or ps4 is not on at the same time? it would be the same as if i was using the lan cable straight into the pc?
VileReynard
Hero
Posts: 12,614
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Need a Lan switch

There is no speed loss.
Search for a "5 port router" for the cheapest possible ones.
You will need a mains power connection.
A switch is a bit like a router with all the intelligence stripped out.

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

picbits
Rising Star
Posts: 3,428
Thanks: 22
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: Need a Lan switch

Good idea to grab a Gigabit switch for futureproofing things slightly and 8 ports will last you slightly longer than a 5 port ......
Amazon have got the Netgear 8 port Gigabit switch for £15 delivered at the moment - seems a bit of a no brainer Smiley
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00AFVB41S
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,470
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2012

Re: Need a Lan switch

Quote from: vilefoxdemonofdoom
Search for a "5 port router" for the cheapest possible ones.

Search for a "5 port switch" for the cheapest possible ones...
VileReynard
Hero
Posts: 12,614
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Need a Lan switch

Sorry.

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

dragon2611
Grafter
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎20-10-2013

Re: Need a Lan switch

Quote from: Strat
I have had a couple of these running on networks for nearly 3 years with no problems.
Switches tend to be completely transparent in use anyway.

That depends on the switches you have  Wink
Basic un-managed switches should be totally transparent and are probably all that most home users would need.
But you can get more advanced switches with management features that let you change settings on them and do things like segment (Vlan) traffic or in the cases of L3 switches actually perform routing on the switch.