cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Help Please

xxandy77xx
Grafter
Posts: 126
Registered: 21-09-2013

Need Help Please

Hi,
I hope i am asking in the right place,  ok i am currently trying to update ( windows update )  the wife`s laptop  and for some strange reason it will not connect to windows update  site can browse, download anything else from other sites  but can`t  connect to WU , now i currently  use my desktop  wired  and connect the laptop wirelessly  i have tried all off microsoft`s fixes but with no joy  i have used my  ethernet  cable with laptop and connected no problem soon as i try wirelessly  no joy never came across this problem before  anyone with any ideas  please  thank you.
16 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Need Help Please

Sounds like an odd one. Might be worth trying a traceroute to see where it stops if that's alright? To do that, on the laptop when it's experiencing the issue:
Open a command prompt (start -> run (or windows key + R to get the run box up) then type in 'cmd' without quotes and hit enter)
once that's up (small black window with a text prompt in it), type in 'tracert windowsupdate.microsoft.com' and let it run. Once it's finished, highlight the results and right click to copy them, you should then be able to paste them into a post here.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,306
Thanks: 971
Fixes: 57
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Need Help Please

Correction
Right click doesn't work for copy -  hi-light the results  by right click and then select all
Then press the enter key - this copies it to the clipboard and you can then paste it into a document and edit as you want before pasting into a post

Just ignore me
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Need Help Please

With all due respect, whether you've selected quick edit mode or not (I have) when text is selected, right clicking on the window removes the highlighting and copies the text to the clipboard - at least it does on Windows 7. Please feel free to test this if you still don't believe me Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,306
Thanks: 971
Fixes: 57
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Need Help Please

Oh bollocks - wrong again  Embarrassed
xxandy77xx
Grafter
Posts: 126
Registered: 21-09-2013

Re: Need Help Please

Hi matt
thank you for taking a look never come across anything like this before.
Hope this is what you are after :-
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
C:\windows\system32>tracert windowsupdate.microsoft.com
Tracing route to update.microsoft.com.nsatc.net [65.55.200.138]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
 1    61 ms    98 ms    98 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
 2    28 ms    28 ms    29 ms  lo0-central10.pcl-ag02.plus.net [195.166.128.183]
 3    27 ms    26 ms    26 ms  link-a-central10.pcl-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.164]
 4    27 ms    27 ms    28 ms  xe-10-1-0.pcl-cr01.plus.net [212.159.0.196]
 5    29 ms    26 ms    28 ms  ae1.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.0]
 6    27 ms    27 ms    26 ms  igblmdistc7504.uk.msft.net [195.66.224.140]
 7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 8     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 9   102 ms   101 ms   102 ms  xe-8-1-1-0.blu-96c-1b.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.43.83]
10   102 ms   101 ms   115 ms  ten9-2.blu-76c-1a.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.47.155]
11   103 ms   103 ms   104 ms  ten1-1.blu-6nx-mcs-1a.ntwk.msn.net [65.55.226.146]
12  ten1-1.blu-6nx-mcs-1a.ntwk.msn.net [65.55.226.146]  reports: Destination net unreachable.
Trace complete.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Need Help Please

Hmm, odd... seems to be doing something different for me:
C:\Users\mjtaylor>tracert windowsupdate.microsoft.com
Tracing route to update.microsoft.com.nsatc.net [157.56.96.62]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
 1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  10.3.5.253
 2    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  10.3.5.254
 3     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  vlan380.pbs-cr01.plus.net [84.93.216.88]
 4     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  gi6-8.ptp-cr01.plus.net [84.93.216.95]
 5     9 ms     8 ms     8 ms  gi1-22.pcl-gw01.plus.net [84.93.224.49]
 6     8 ms     8 ms    41 ms  ae3.pcl-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.40]
 7     8 ms    11 ms     8 ms  ae1.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.0]
 8     *        9 ms     9 ms  igblmdistc7504.uk.msft.net [195.66.224.140]
 9     9 ms    10 ms     9 ms  xe-0-2-0-0.lts-96cbe-1a.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.42.
221]
10   100 ms    95 ms    86 ms  xe-8-2-0-0.ash-96cbe-1b.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.45.
236]
11    85 ms    84 ms    83 ms  xe-9-2-1-0.ash-96cbe-1a.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.46.
59]
12    92 ms   135 ms    88 ms  xe-8-0-2-0.bn1-96c-1b.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.40.43
]
13    92 ms    88 ms    88 ms  xe-10-3-2-0.bn1-96c-1a.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.44.1
52]
14     *        *        *     Request timed out.
15     *        *        *     Request timed out.
16     *        *        *     Request timed out.
17     *        *        *     Request timed out.
18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
But I can still get to the page (I may have recommended the wrong one there  Embarrassed all it says is that windows update is available from the control panel :/
If that's not the site you're trying to visit please advise - and maybe check that antivirus or something isn't getting in the way?
@Oldjim - not wrong in the least, both enter and right click can be used - whichever's easier Smiley
xxandy77xx
Grafter
Posts: 126
Registered: 21-09-2013

Re: Need Help Please

hi matt ,
yes its definitly windows update ive just tried that again and got the same ,  have tried with anti virus off and on also have just tried my sons laptop and connected no bother so iam stumped also have tried clean install with no luck , i have however just  noticed  when starting up windows update  once screen is up  i looked in task manager and the processes isnt there i have noticed it there before when running update  i have checked in services and everything in there looks fine  not sure if that causing the problem
2u2me
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 276
Thanks: 59
Fixes: 1
Registered: 27-09-2013

Re: Need Help Please

Hi There xxandy77xx, I have the same problem with a Samsung n130 netbook running windows xp and when I view the event log in the TG582n router
I get this,  : LOGIN wireless station [xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx] can't get authorized. (only when trying to connect to windows update) as soon as I try another site the router lets me connect, this problem is only when using wireless,on wired connection its OK , When I was using my spare Netgear  DG834G router I never experienced this, It will be interesting to see if anyone finds a solution,  I also found  for MSE updates it needs a wired connection  Embarrassed
,
xxandy77xx
Grafter
Posts: 126
Registered: 21-09-2013

Re: Need Help Please

Hi 2u2me, i never thought to look there yep exactly the same  error  login  wireless station [xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx] can't get authorized , but its fine with anything else apart from trying to update  i got sick of trying and just used wired in the end got it updated wife`s happy  lol.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Need Help Please

Does the windows update fail with any particular error ?
I've had this happen twice recently. One on a customers machine which had a rootkit virus and another on a Windows XP virtual machine I was setting up which was a nightmare to sort out.
The rootkit virus was preventing any updates and connection to certain websites.
The virtual XP machine was a really strange one and I ended up patching the OS update by update until it all started working again.
2u2me
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 276
Thanks: 59
Fixes: 1
Registered: 27-09-2013

Re: Need Help Please

Hia, I ran GMER and it found nothing, strange it only happens with the Technicolor TG582n router, I may experiment with different wireless encryptions sometime but having the netbook, laptop and desktop all set up  with WPA2_PSK changing would be a bit of a faff, at present I just use the wired to update every other day
Cheers
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,306
Thanks: 971
Fixes: 57
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Need Help Please

This may be totally irrelevant but the router firewall seems to do some odd things at times so try disabling it and see what happens
2u2me
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 276
Thanks: 59
Fixes: 1
Registered: 27-09-2013

Re: Need Help Please

Hi jim, That`s the first thing I tried
cheers tho
Gonna go to Costa`s to see if I can update from there Smiley
2u2me
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 276
Thanks: 59
Fixes: 1
Registered: 27-09-2013

Re: Need Help Please

Update:
Having successfully connected to windows update at costa`s wifi,I have been playing with my netbooks wireless card setting, and found by going into device manager, selecting the wireless card adapter then its properties,to advanced tab and changing the wireless mode from IEE802.11b/g/n to IEE802.11b/g I can now get windows and MSE  updates wirelessly through the TG528n router Smiley Hope this maybe of use to anyone having a similar problem
Cheers