cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NTE5C?

Manny7860
Rising Star
Posts: 138
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-11-2017

NTE5C?

13 REPLIES
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 1,208
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: NTE5C?

Had one fitted several months ago , fixed my intermittent problem Thumbs Up

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Manny7860
Rising Star
Posts: 138
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-11-2017

Re: NTE5C?

That's good to hear. Thanks for feedback. They look simple to install. Push down clip.
Excellent!
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,646
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: NTE5C?

Had a similar one fitted recently; the plastic bag says it is a

NTE5c MK2/VDSL Frontplate MK4 combined unit.

It gives a much improved download speed.

Manny7860
Rising Star
Posts: 138
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-11-2017

Re: NTE5C?

That's good.
Sounds like the same one. Any picture.
Excellent!
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,646
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: NTE5C?

Manny7860
Rising Star
Posts: 138
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-11-2017

Re: NTE5C?

Yeah looks like the same one pal. They call it mark 4 fourth version I believe
Excellent!
DaveyH
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 192
Fixes: 7
Registered: 15-11-2012

Re: NTE5C?

Have a read of this thread

http://forums.thinkbroadband.com/fibre/4532655-new-mk4-faceplate.html?fpart=all

 

The general consensus is they're cheap tat and not worth 'upgrading' from older NTE5s

Manny7860
Rising Star
Posts: 138
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-11-2017

Re: NTE5C?

It's just the outer case is a bit flimsy due to it being a push on/ off fit.
Them guys in the forum had a problem with line so its not a quick fix its not going to increase speed or a previous fault. Just there for stability it has a updated Rein filter and RF filter.
Excellent!
Manny7860
Rising Star
Posts: 138
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-11-2017

Re: NTE5C?

Some info here on what's on the insides
https://youtu.be/jD67a-ZC7VY
Excellent!
Manny7860
Rising Star
Posts: 138
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-11-2017

Re: NTE5C?

So the NTE5C socket and Mk4 front pre filtered faceplate is a good combination to use.
Excellent!
Manny7860
Rising Star
Posts: 138
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-11-2017

Re: NTE5C?

@rongtw what faceplate you got on your nte5c socket?
Excellent!
Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,606
Thanks: 456
Fixes: 36
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: NTE5C?

The "telephone engineer" in the link from the 1st post seems rather clueless!

This is fibre to the cabinet (FTTC) VDSL. I have seen this perform at almost 60Mb download. Astonishing!

Funny

It seems like Openreach want to get users to install the BT Openreach New NTE5C Master Socket themselves!

The master socket is Openreach's demarcation point and not to be touched by us mere mortals.

I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,646
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: NTE5C?

I think BT want people to do their own wiring for extension sockets.

Except that almost everyone wouldn't wire into the socket (assuming they didn't use DECT). Cheesy