cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My site says " Not Secure"

pixgunnill
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

My site says " Not Secure"

Help please!

 

Since the last upgrades with Safari and MacOS, my two websites hosted by PlusNet are showing " Not Secure ". How do I correct or change this please?

 

Thx

8 REPLIES 8
Marksfish
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,042
Thanks: 269
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-11-2014

Re: My site says " Not Secure"

Do your sites address with http or https? If you don't have SSL, or PN don't automatically provide SSL, it is a thing that Google had done, marking sites without https as untrusted. Other browsers will probably have followed suit.

 

pixgunnill
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: My site says " Not Secure"

My sites  use http. Is there away around this?

 

Thx for your reply

 

Mike

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,030
Thanks: 5,356
Fixes: 1,340
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: My site says " Not Secure"

only by buying and installing an ssl certificate, which I'm not sure you have the access to do on PN websites.

but it doesn't actually matter if you're not capturing data and it's only used for browsing.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
pixgunnill
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: My site says " Not Secure"

I use Sandvox and then Plusnet for hosting. I don't deal with money for example or transfers. It's just the annoying message I want to get rid off.

 

Mike

Marksfish
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,042
Thanks: 269
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-11-2014

Re: My site says " Not Secure"


@dvorak wrote:

but it doesn't actually matter if you're not capturing data and it's only used for browsing.

 

Depends if ranking in search engines is important to you, as non https sites are being penalised: https://www.secjuice.com/http-vs-https/

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,030
Thanks: 5,356
Fixes: 1,340
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: My site says " Not Secure"

But then if I was bothered about that I wouldn't use an ISP to host my website either..
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Marksfish
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,042
Thanks: 269
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-11-2014

Re: My site says " Not Secure"

But some people do. Not everyone knows the ins and outs of hosting. It may be a niche site with not many hits, but the publisher may still want it to show up somewhere. The search engines used to be full of free providers, not so much now, probably due to this change.

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,030
Thanks: 5,356
Fixes: 1,340
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: My site says " Not Secure"


@pixgunnill wrote:

My sites  use http. Is there away around this?

 


 

There is a way - but not sure if it's palatable https://www.plus.net/help/broadband/about-your-plusnet-webspace/

 

so https://homepages.plus.net/<yourusername>  would get rid of the not secure message 

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'