Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multi screen adapters

journeys
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 1

Multi screen adapters

Has anyone any experience, advice or recommendations with USB 3 to VGA connectors to connect an extra monitor.

(like this one http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SuperSpeed-USB-3-0-to-VGA-Graphic-Card-Multi-Display-Monitor-Cable-Adapter...

21 REPLIES 21
VileReynard
Hero
Fixes: 20

Re: Multi screen adapters

I've no experience of these things - but -

It claims to support a HD resolution, but since VGA is an analogue output, it can't achieve full HD.

If it's a fairly static monitor (eg CCTV) or perhaps only 1024 x 768 then it ought to perfectly fine.

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

ReedRichards
Seasoned Pro
Fixes: 25

Does the monitor require VGA?  You can get other types of USB converters, such as USB to HDMI.

Anonymous
Not applicable

@journeys - What kind of monitors do you have or what input types do they support? Ideally you'd be looking at a DVI Y Connector or DisplayPort Y Connector.

7up
Community Veteran
Fixes: 17

Hang about, so i don't need some weird graphics card setup with two cards to support my three monitors when there is a usb device out there?

Ace.

I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
Anonymous
Not applicable

Well it can depend on the maximum resolution your video card supports and more importantly the drivers used. E.G. If you have two monitors of 1280 x 800 you’d want a video card that had a resolution of 2560 x 1600 and video drivers to get two distinct screen. This isn’t true in all cases of course but is a decent rule of thumb as some driver vendors may not support the option, while others might only allow you to clone the existing screen.