cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Monitor Question

Fantasticfourum
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 386
Thanks: 53
Registered: 01-08-2007

Monitor Question

Hi All
Thought i would buy a new monitor and decided for the quite cheap DGM L-2362WD 23" Wide screen monitor from E Buyer However when i look up this product code it says full HD now this may seem a stupid question but nowhere on the box it came in or in the specification manual does it even mention HD or are all new monitors HD now ? But i would have thought it would have mentioned in the specs it is HD seems a bit strange but thought someone may put my mind at rest that i have not been sold a non HD monitor. PS havent used it yet because thought i may have to return it if not HD  Many Thanks Mike
9 REPLIES
Fantasticfourum
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 386
Thanks: 53
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Monitor Question

Just got these specs from their web site and it does not mention HD
Specification Overview:

Panel Size 23”Widescreen TFT LCD
Resolution 1920 x 1080 (WUXGA)
Pixel Pitch 0.265 (H) x 0.265 (V) mm
Display Colors 16.7M
Brightness (cd/m2) 300cd/m2
Contrast Ratio 1000:1
Scan Frequency H:30-80KHz  V:56-75Hz
Response time 5ms
Viewing Angle, H/V 170 degree(H) / 170 degree(V)
OSD language English, German, French, Italian, Spanish,Dutch,  Traditional Chinese
Input Signal VGA (D-sub 15pin), DVI-D
Internal Speaker Built-in Stereo Speakers

Connectivity:
feature value
VGA spacer 1 x VGA
SCART spacer 0 x SCART
HDMI spacer 0 x HDMI
COMP spacer 0 x COMP
Composite spacer 0 x Composite
RF spacer 0 x RF
S-Video spacer 0 x S-Video
SPDIF spacer 0 x SPDIF
PC Audio In spacer 1 x PC Audio In
RCA spacer 0 x RCA
DVI spacer 1 x DVI
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Monitor Question

1920 x 1080 is the full HD spec
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,417
Thanks: 1,449
Fixes: 80
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Monitor Question

The spec says Full HD 1080 and others seem to like it http://www.ebuyer.com/product/169049/show_product_reviews

Customer and Forum Moderator.

To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
Fantasticfourum
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 386
Thanks: 53
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Monitor Question

Hi
Yes thanks just found that out ..just shows you i rang Digimate and they told me it wasnt full HD but then found out what you said so many thanks and it goes to prove ringing the manufacturer wont always give you the right answer, although i still think its funny they dont show it on the box as Full HD.....Regards  Mike
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,823
Thanks: 245
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Monitor Question

You will need a DVI socket on your video card and DVI cable to get true HD performance.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,417
Thanks: 1,449
Fixes: 80
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Monitor Question

http://www.expertreviews.co.uk/monitors/268645/digimate-l-2362wd
Quote
Unfortunately, there's no getting past the fact that this is a budget monitor. It doesn't have HDCP support, so you can't connect a Blu-ray player. Considering the screen's full HD 1,920x1,080 resolution, this seems like a missed opportunity.
If you want to watch Blu-ray movies, you'll have to connect your PC to the screen over the analogue VGA input (these films won't play over an unprotected DVI connection). Still, none of this is a problem if you just want a screen to use with your PC.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,823
Thanks: 245
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Monitor Question

I think this answer only applies to Windows / Apple systemsHuh?

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,789
Registered: 08-06-2007

Re: Monitor Question

Yup... because Linux doesn't have HDCP support anyway, so you can't currently legally play full-quality Blu-ray under Linux in most circumstances.
B.
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,823
Thanks: 245
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Monitor Question

Blue Ray isn't the only source Cheesy
If I have a screen and some bits (that were legally obtained) why do I need a fancy DVD player?
For example the BBC will supply me with a fair supply of HD material...
Not to mention perfectly legal P2P, downloads etc
If I had a Sky aerial, I wonder if I could plug that in?
In the Wikipedia article, I see that
Quote
For DVI interfaces, HDCP is optional
Grin Grin Grin
Apparently the secret code has been cracked - see http://www.tgdaily.com/consumer-electronics-features/31859-cease-and-desist-letters-backfire-horribl...
(This won't tell you how to do it). Smiley
Predictable.