cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mint and 64-bit

N/A

Mint and 64-bit

My current Sony laptop is W7 64-bit.  Have partitioned it in readiness for putting Mint Isadora on it.
HERE is the link that I have chosen for downloading it so just wondered - is it the correct one and is there anything else that I ought to know?  Not done 64-bit before so is there any difference?
8 REPLIES
Steve
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 6,700
Thanks: 252
Registered: 13-07-2009

Re: Mint and 64-bit

Yes thats the correct one, Problems with flash 64 in F.F.  i see a lot of Undecided
If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,608
Thanks: 209
Fixes: 15
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Mint and 64-bit

I'm running 64bit Mint on 2 PC's with no issues. One has cr*p graphics (this one) on-board chrome S3, and the other an Nvidia 8400. Both do everything that is needed, including flash and video playback. You will be limited to version 9.x of flash as v10 hasn't been released for 64bit.
apt search flash
v  abrowser-flashblock            -
v  abrowser-flashgot              -
v  firefox-flashblock              -
v  firefox-flashgot                -
v  flashblock                      -
p  flashgot                        - transitional dummy package
p  flashplugin-installer          - Adobe Flash Player plugin installer
p  flashplugin-nonfree            - Adobe Flash Player plugin installer (trans
p  flashrom                        - Identify, read, write, erase, and verify B
p  flashybrid                      - automates use of a flash disk as the root
p  m16c-flash                      - Flash programmer for Renesas M16C and R8C
i  mint-flashplugin-x64            - Adobe's 64-bit Flash plugin
p  python-webflash                - Portable flash messages for Python WSGI ap
v  seamonkey-flashgot              -
v  thunderbird-flashgot            -
p  vrflash                        - tool to flash kernels and romdisks to Agen
p  xul-ext-flashblock              - mozilla extension to block Adobe Flash con
p  xul-ext-flashgot                - Turns every supported download manager int
v  xulrunner-flashgot              -

Just checked and OOB it has installed mint-flashplugin-x64
Why are you wanting the 64bit version, do you have more than 4Gb of ram, or is it just because you can? There are no real differences between them other than the fact the 64bit ver will support more memory OOB.
I put in on both machines so I could copy s/w between then easily  Cool
N/A

Re: Mint and 64-bit

Well, I thought that if you had a 64-bit machine you had to have the 64-bit version. RAM on this machine is 3GB. Could I just use the 32-bit download then?
Happy just to follow advice so long as it doesn't trash my machine!  Grin
matt_2k34
Grafter
Posts: 1,300
Registered: 09-07-2007

Re: Mint and 64-bit

32-bit will work on a 32bit or 64bit CPU.
if your graphics card has less than 1gb of RAM (im guessing it will have!) then id go for the 3gb version, as you will have less incompatability issues Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,608
Thanks: 209
Fixes: 15
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Mint and 64-bit

No there is no issue of having to use 64bit s/w on a 64bit machine, just the opposite, a 32bit pc can only run 32bit s/w not 64bit.
I used to have the 32 bit version installed on this pc, as I said the only real reason was to be able to swap s/w back and forward (stuff that had been compiled rather than d/ed via the repos)
N/A

Re: Mint and 64-bit

Right, will download the 32-bit version then. Matt - wasn't sure about the graphics but have googled it and found this: Up to 1340MB graphics memory from shared resources.
It is a Vaio VGN-NW20EF
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,608
Thanks: 209
Fixes: 15
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Mint and 64-bit

Another good reason for using the 32bit. version, a lot of sites only offer deb's in 32bit form, so you have to compile you own a lot with 64bit - only if you get stuff outside the repo's though.
matt_2k34
Grafter
Posts: 1,300
Registered: 09-07-2007

Re: Mint and 64-bit

yeah shared resources means its using the RAM and doesnt have a dedicated space.
I thought id ask because Sony has a habit of giving graphics cards dedicated ram Smiley (although 1gig is quite top-end)
personally, id go with 32bit.
HairyBiker is on the money:
32bit cpu = 32bit OS only.
64bit cpu = 32bit OR 64bit OS
(just to make it a little clearer HB  Wink)