cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mint 16

Strat
Community Veteran
Posts: 31,319
Thanks: 1,638
Fixes: 565
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Mint 16

The other day I installed Linux Mint 16 with Cinnamon (previously 14) on a laptop and I'm having issues with installing and running WiFi.
I'm still on the second rung of the Linux learning ladder and successfully set up WiFi on v14.
Persistence needed.
Windows 10 Firefox 107.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
5 REPLIES 5
VileReynard
Hero
Posts: 12,613
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Mint 16

It should (hopefully) just ask you to choose a SSiD and enter a password, after you have logged in.
This can be memorised so you have to do nothing in future logins.
For more information, use the inxi command - you may have to install this with
Quote
sudo apt-get install inxi
and enter your user password when prompted.
Then enter
Quote
inxi -n
Here is a sample (two cards one wired, one wifi) -
Quote
jeremy@hector:~$ inxi -n
Network:  Card-1: NVIDIA CK804 Ethernet Controller driver: forcedeth
          IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: 00:18:f3:67:7d:7c
          Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR5212/AR5213 Wireless Network Adapter
          IF: N/A state: N/A mac: N/A

Finally, you can use a string like Atheros AR5212/AR5213 to do a Google search.

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

HairyMcbiker
All Star
Posts: 6,792
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Mint 16

If you had wifi working then the fix should be easy.
First make sure you haven't inadvertently switched it off (there maybe a small switch on the front side of the l/t to enable it)
Then open the network icon and tell us if it sees the wifi device.
Then VFD's info will come in useful.
Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Mint 16

What I would try first is connect the computer using an ethernet cable, and download and install all the latest updates.
Then reboot, and see whether WiFi miraculously starts.
I don't know about Mint, but other Linux distro's often have a search for "Additional Drivers" which might reveal something.
You might as well do this at the same time as being connected with the ethernet cable.
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.6.0 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
Strat
Community Veteran
Posts: 31,319
Thanks: 1,638
Fixes: 565
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Mint 16

Quote from: purleigh
What I would try first is connect the computer using an ethernet cable, and download and install all the latest updates.
Then reboot, and see whether WiFi miraculously starts.

Tried this and rebooted without ethernet connected and it worked.
It seems that Linux sees an ethernet connection and decides that WiFi isn't required so makes it unavailable.
However if I plug in ethernet I still can see and configure WiFi Undecided
Windows 10 Firefox 107.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
PeeGee
Pro
Posts: 1,217
Thanks: 84
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎05-04-2009

Re: Mint 16

What you don't really want is both wired and wireless providing the same link (normally, that is Roll_eyes ), but the faster of the two (presumed to be wired Roll_eyes ). However, if you do need both operating on different (isolated) nets/subnets it allows you to do that.
Plusnet FTTC (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link Archer VR600 modem-router.