cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

McAfee what do I get and how?

dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: 24-02-2015

McAfee what do I get and how?

My computer has McAfee in it which was included with my Sky package this ceased with my broadband when my service stopped Tuesday, I have fingers crossed that today I get my Plusnet fibre broadband working will my present McAfee just update itself and carry on?
Aprreciated if any ex-Sky customers can share their experience too on this.
Thanks
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
7 REPLIES
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: 24-02-2015

Re: McAfee what do I get and how?

Well Plusnet broadband at last working, now I urgently need answer to what Plusnet have in my package as regards McAfee please.
Much to my surprise my Sky McAffee is updating things and appears to be working.  Supposed to be cancelled.
Will Plusnet have taken it over automatically?
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,557
Thanks: 172
Fixes: 2
Registered: 27-05-2011

Re: McAfee what do I get and how?

@dnpark
If your package is anything like mine it's not included with fibre  Huh
When I moved from PN ADSL it was cancelled  Angry
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: McAfee what do I get and how?

Plusnet brand McAfee as Plusnet Protect and it's free on Fibre Unlimited Extra (76 Mbps) and £2/month on Fibre Unlimited (38 Mbps)
https://www.plus.net/home-broadband/protect/
Plusnet haven't 'taken over' your Sky licence.  I'd guess that it is licenced on at least a month by month basis so will continue as is for a while.  Try looking in the software GUI for an expiry date.
If you choose to install Plusnet Prorect, you'll have to uninstall the McAfee you have first.
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: 24-02-2015

Re: McAfee what do I get and how?

Quote from: PeterLoftus
@dnpark
If your package is anything like mine it's not included with fibre  Huh

https://www.plus.net/home-broadband/protect/
Towards the bottom.
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,557
Thanks: 172
Fixes: 2
Registered: 27-05-2011

Re: McAfee what do I get and how?

@dn
I followed your link £5 set up fee plus £2 per month. As I meant to say it was free when I was on ADSL  Smiley
\ edit. Following pwatson's explanation I'm on the 38Mbps package
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: 24-02-2015

Re: McAfee what do I get and how?

Quote from: pwatson
Plusnet brand McAfee as Plusnet Protect and it's free on Fibre Unlimited Extra (76 Mbps) and £2/month on Fibre Unlimited (38 Mbps)
https://www.plus.net/home-broadband/protect/
  Try looking in the software GUI for an expiry date.

Looks like it might be a 3 month free trial as I'm up to 38Mb
My McAfee has a link to verify subscription so as you suggest I have followed it and "McAfee has verified your subscription", unfortunately no indication as to how long for without payment.
Maybe Plusnet support who read these e-mails could contribute here please, as to my best way forward to be economic for me.
The 3 months free trial period is it from when I download it or from last Tuesday my transfer date of ISP?
Thanks  to all for help.
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
jimbo121
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Registered: 05-06-2015

Re: McAfee what do I get and how?

Microsoft essentials comes free for Windows and comes with a 'Which' recommendation.