cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mapping Network Drives

dgreen007
Grafter
Posts: 169
Registered: 05-03-2008

Mapping Network Drives

I'm having a few difficulties mapping a drive on a PC.
The drive is shared but I am unable to see it on my new PC (a reconditioned DELL Pentium 4 running XP Pro).
Are there any checks I can run through to make this PC 'network friendly'.
Thanks
7 REPLIES
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,088
Thanks: 47
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: Mapping Network Drives

Firstly, are both PCs on the same network? If using DHCP, then that's taken care of Smiley If not, then check (start->run->cmd and type ipconfig /all )
Secondly, are they in the same workgroup? (My Computer->properties, I think)
Can you access it by UNC - //computer/sharename (not likely, though)?
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,321
Thanks: 1,665
Fixes: 184
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Mapping Network Drives

What security software are you running?
Suspect your firewalls might be getting in the way

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

dgreen007
Grafter
Posts: 169
Registered: 05-03-2008

Re: Mapping Network Drives

Yes, DHCP is running and I have been able to map to this PC with my previos machine (which has now been replaced by this DELL)
I can't connect using UNC.
I am running AVG and the firewalls haven't prevented this in the past but maybe they have changed the settings (what should I be lookibg for)
I can ping the machine and also synchronise my ACT databases (which is very strange)
I can't however use Sync Toy....
I'm baffled...
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Mapping Network Drives

Have you checked the workgroup names are the same as PeeGee posted?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
dgreen007
Grafter
Posts: 169
Registered: 05-03-2008

Re: Mapping Network Drives

Jelv, yes the workgroup name is the same.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,574
Thanks: 3
Registered: 13-04-2007

Re: Mapping Network Drives

This is normally down to permissions if the firewall is ok. When you try and connect it takes the username and password your logged in as and send that. if that doesnt exist on the target pc it wont work. Try from a command prompt
net use P: \\pcnameor ip\sharname password /user:username
the password and username are for the target pc and must exist. So if the target pc was called dell and the share was music and the username was admin and the password pass you would type
net use P: \\dell\music pass /user:admin
dgreen007
Grafter
Posts: 169
Registered: 05-03-2008

Re: Mapping Network Drives

Just resolved the problem and I thought I should let everyone know....
It was a simple solution that I didn't even think about.
Sharing simply wasn't set up on the new PC, I didn't realise that by default the sharing is blocked for security reasons.
I used the wizard to set up sharing.
When you right click over the folder/drive you want to share you have to enable the sharing first by using the wizard.
I know this is obvious but I missed it...
Hope this helps.