cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linux Netgear Netgear DG834G/GT script

VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,649
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Linux Netgear Netgear DG834G/GT script

I have a script which I use to over-ride BT's noise margin on my Netgear router.
Paste the following lines into a file, reset_router called in your home directory:-
Quote
#!/bin/bash
wget --http-user=admin --http-password=password http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=debug
(echo /usr/sbin/adslctl configure --snr 48 ; sleep 1.0; echo exit) | telnet 192.168.0.1
rm "setup.cgi?todo=debug"

Change the attributes to execute=yes, write=no
Run it from a command line with ./reset_router
or run it from a menu option (no special authority required)
You may need to massage it a bit:-
admin=your router signon admin name
password=your router admin password
48 is a value that gives me a 6dB noise margin - use higher values for higher noise margins.
Well it works for me anyway... Grin

5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Linux Netgear Netgear DG834G/GT script

Are you sure it works on an 834G as that uses a different chipset and firmware load to the GT and I have not seen any other script that allows SNR to be changed on the G.
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,649
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Linux Netgear Netgear DG834G/GT script

Can't swear to the 834G - I thought I'd seen it (somewhere) - but anything with a telnet interface that supports the
/usr/sbin/adslctl configure --snr NN
command should work though.
http://www.kitz.co.uk/routers/netgeardg834_interleaving.htm seems to indicate that the adslctl command is enabled (at least in some form).

carrot63
Grafter
Posts: 599
Registered: 12-07-2007

Re: Linux Netgear Netgear DG834G/GT script

Would it be possible to use something like this in Mac OSX with a DG834 v2?
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Linux Netgear Netgear DG834G/GT script

As I suspected it is only the 834GT/834PN range that allows the SNR figure to be changed at the router end.
The 834/834G V1/V2/V3 do not support that feature as it does not have an adslctl command. The V4 might as it uses a different chipset and has the adslctl command, but cannot confirm it.
If it were possible then The DMT tool would list that router, but it does not.
carrot63
Grafter
Posts: 599
Registered: 12-07-2007

Re: Linux Netgear Netgear DG834G/GT script

Never mind, but thanks Peter.