cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Laptop freezes

penneck
Aspiring Pro

Laptop freezes

Not sure whether this is a hardware problem or a software problem, but here goes:-
I am investigating a problem on a Compaq Presario laptop with XP Home on it. It boots up, gets through to the desktop and then after a while, first it freezes, and then the screen goes blank. The only thing that I hve found to move from this point is to power off the pc. I then switch it on again, but it only does the same thing again.
Before it freezes, I can get Start to bring up the usual window where you can access Control Panel and Programs, etc, but it is still the same thing - it freezes and then goes blank. Also before it freezes, an Error window comes up about Advanced Registry Optimizer.
I would like to fix this laptop, though I have never tried to get inside a laptop before. I object to throwing otherwise good electronics away.
My first attempt at repairing it involved trying to remove the bottom of the case - I want to get inside to look for blocked cooling points or iffy electrolitic capacitors. I removed all of the screws I could find incliding those hiding in the battery compartment, the hard drive compartment, and the memory compartment. I could lift the edges of the base a bit all round except for along the edge where the battery compartment is.
Can anyone please tell me where there are hidden clips or whatever, and how to release them.
Also any suggestions what might be causing the problem.
TIA
9 REPLIES 9
ReedRichards
Seasoned Pro
Fixes: 25

Re: Laptop freezes