cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Laptop batteries

VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,649
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Laptop batteries

Does a stationary laptop need a working battery to run properly?  Cheesy
Seriously - I've been asked this - I don't know the answer.

10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,949
Thanks: 359
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Laptop batteries

No.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,370
Thanks: 987
Fixes: 117
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Laptop batteries

Nope, just don't forget and pull the power cord out Roll eyes
Will Moderate For Thanks
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,649
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Laptop batteries

Thanks @ejs & @dvork  Grin Grin

Community Veteran
Posts: 17,023
Thanks: 1,217
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Laptop batteries

No. it does not "need" a battery to work if it is used as a desktop.... however...being a "laptop", you may forget it has no battery in, and try to move it across a room, whilst in the middle of a spreadsheet working, or a document, and as soon as you unplug it... BAM!....







you just remembered it`s got no battery !.....  Embarrassed
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,649
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Laptop batteries

We are talking about a laptop whose 'enter' keycap has fallen off.
Must buy one one of those ANY key things...  Cheesy

kmilburn
Grafter
Posts: 902
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Laptop batteries

While No is generally the right answer,  some laptops are a bit more awkward.
Generally,  when connected to mains,  the battery is bypassed/recharged while in use,  however,  some systems are always powered by the battery, and the mains keeps the battery charged.
The easiest way to determine if it'll  work is to remove the battery and try.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,022
Thanks: 540
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Laptop batteries

Nope - not on any of mine that I've had anyway.
One thing to note though is that the charging sockets can be a bit fragile and can wear out pretty quickly so you may want to consider using a battery anyway and just charge it when needed instead of relying on it.
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 3
Registered: 20-10-2012

Re: Laptop batteries

Quote from: vilefoxdemonofdoom
Does a stationary laptop need a working battery to run properly?  Cheesy
Seriously - I've been asked this - I don't know the answer.

Our 4 year old Samsung has an absolutely dead battery attached to it. We run it just on the adapter. If we pull the lead it dies immediately - no blinks, no power down, no nothing.
It's been running like that for some months now.
We've never tried running it without the battery as I read somewhere sometime ago that some laptops have the charging circuit built into the battery. No point in risking it as it runs perfectly well with the dead battery attached.
Geoff,
York.
jmd
Grafter
Posts: 2,933
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Laptop batteries

My Dell has been running without battery for some months now, I just have to press F1 key to make it ignore the fact, and remember that it is using the power cord.
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,023
Thanks: 1,217
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Laptop batteries

My old Dell inspiron did exactly the same....
I was thinking about buying a replacement battery, then decided to open it up, and inside is some special size (like oversized AA ) rechargable batteries.... got some i.d. from them , googled them and was going to buy 6 to fit myself.... then I saw something on Youtube about putting the battery inside two poly bags wrapped in a teatowel and into the Freezer for 48 hours.... bring out , let them "thaw out " for a couple of days... put in laptop, and hey presto supposed to charge up again.....
didn`t work for me... but I used to leave the laptop in the car, unused for days at a time, and last winter (not this one just happening). it was a week before I plugged in the laptop to use... LO!. and Behold... it started to charge again... and... although it did not fully charge... showed a full charge and would work for about half an hour when disconnected from the mains....