cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LINKSYS EA9500 AC5400 or Netgear Nighthawk X4S AC2600

johncarey72

LINKSYS EA9500 AC5400 or Netgear Nighthawk X4S AC2600

Good morning all.

I have been a plusnet customer for a good while and have always enjoyed the service. Recently however I have found the wifi connection to be poor. This is not due to the speed I am receiving, more to do with the new house distances and walls, and the number of devices connected I feel. Upgraded to the Hub one when the last contract was renewed but this strangely enough seems to have made the issue worse rather than better.

So I am now looking to change the router for a higher grade one. I am not an expert, more complete novice, on all things network so looking for some advice. As I dont have a seperate modem I am reasonably sure i need a VDSL,ADSL router/modem to replace the hub one. I have been looking at the above two routers. Not cheap but willing to pay to get the wifi coverage I want for the family. Any suggestions which one or are there others out there that will do a better job?

Both of the above can be found at Very (not where I will buy but easy for comparrison).

Cheers all, any advice will be much appreciated.

4 REPLIES 4
ReedRichards
Seasoned Pro
Fixes: 25

Re: LINKSYS EA9500 AC5400 or Netgear Nighthawk X4S AC2600

There are various alternatives to trying to get a single router to cover a large house.  As you don't mention these you may not be aware of them.  

You could use a wireless/WiFi Range Extender (or several) which is a single unit that re-transmits the wireless signal.  These need to be strategically positioned so that they receive a strong-enough signal from the router and then pass it on to more remote parts of the building where the WiFi from the router is weak.