cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Kaspersky Internet Security 2013 Activation "Invalid Region" Bug?

douglasG
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-07-2012

Kaspersky Internet Security 2013 Activation "Invalid Region" Bug?

Anyone had this activation error on KIS 2013?
Install goes Ok, but I get an Activation error that says that this version is for a different region, yet the box says that it can only be installed and activated in the European Union region.
Using XP Pro SP3 with no other probs.
Funny thing is that KIS 2012 installed and activated OK previously.
Another point is that choice of install location has been removed in KIS 2013 so forced install on "C" drive only. This is a real pity. Usually use "K" drive for Kaspersky, etc. and other drives letters for installing programs
Kaspersky says that a number of PlusNet users are experiencing this problem.  Anyone?
Is there a fix?
2 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,624
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: Kaspersky Internet Security 2013 Activation "Invalid Region" Bug?

That sort of thing is usually caused by incorrect reading of the location of your IP address, in which case disconnecting and reconnecting from the internet should get you a new IP address. Don't power cycle to do this - log in to your router's GUI, click the "Disconnect" option, wait a minute or two, click "Connect" and, assuming you get a new IP address in a different range, try installing the software again.
None of this will help if you have a static IP, though...
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,337
Thanks: 1,893
Fixes: 174
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Kaspersky Internet Security 2013 Activation "Invalid Region" Bug?

I'll be putting this to the test in a few days Sad

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 64.0 (64-bit)