cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is this a record...?

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,584
Thanks: 2,882
Fixes: 238
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Is this a record...?

FireFox (27.0.1) currently hogging 3,098,000K of memory!
I know memory leakage is an issue and has been for some time but this is the highest I've seen it go.
Time to quit and restart Wink

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

8 REPLIES
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: ‎08-12-2013

Re: Is this a record...?

Mine  Embarrassed do not go that high Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,424
Thanks: 17
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: Is this a record...?

My old Firefox used to bomb out when it hit the 2Gb memory mark.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,584
Thanks: 2,882
Fixes: 238
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Is this a record...?

It does tend to slow down some aspects of the PC.
I will be honest and say that, at the time I noticed the above, I had five windows open with a total of 124 tabs. Cheesy
Then again memory leakage shouldn't really arise, though.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Is this a record...?

Mine's at 440,000K and I've been in it all day (it's used 1:26:37 CPU).
Have you tried disabling all the add-ons to see if the leak still occurs?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: ‎08-12-2013

Re: Is this a record...?

Quote from: Mav
<snip>
I will be honest and say that, at the time I noticed the above, I had five windows open with a total of 124 tabs. Cheesy
<snip>

I though I was bad when I had approx 30 tabs open a while back
Sounds like you do not do things by halves Wink
@jelv
Will be interested to see if it is down to any add-ons
kmilburn
Grafter
Posts: 905
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Is this a record...?

As has been mentioned many times in numerous places,  it is NOT a memory leak, all (or should that be most) the memory is fully accounted for.
With 5 windows and over 100 tabs open,   that'll take a fair amount of memory on its own,
When you then add the previous widows and tabs that you can reopen (because it's still got the information),  it's hardly surprising you've used that much.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Is this a record...?

Quote from: Mav
FireFox (27.0.1) currently hogging 3,098,000K of memory!

If I recall, firefox will keep in memory any files you downloaded in that session, so if you've downloaded something like a Visual Studio ISO it's easy to get it that high.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,584
Thanks: 2,882
Fixes: 238
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Is this a record...?

@ avatasticI didn't know that. Mostly I use JDownloader.
Not sure if that is part of the issue, though. If I watch the memory usage In Task Manager - Processes I can see the memory usage increasing.
@jelv I haven't disabled all the Addons (extenions) yet (currently have just TabMix Plus and AdBlock Plus running).
There are several Plugins listed, too (what's the difference between a Plugin and an Extension?) but they don't appear to be activated - see screen shot.
Next time I need to quit FF I will disable the remaining Plugins.
BTW, how do I totally remove the greyed-out Extensions?

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still