cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interwebs to Humax freesat box - wireless or homeplugs?

Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Interwebs to Humax freesat box - wireless or homeplugs?

Hi all,
Hoping you can help me out with something. I'm wanting to sort out connectivity to my mum's freesat box under the telly, from the router in the dining room next door. She doesn't want more wires cluttering up the place so it seems I'm left with two options:
1) Homeplugs (should be self explanatory).
2) One of those Linksys WGA54G wireless adapters that were made for the PS2/Xbox and other consoles that didn't get wireless connectivity (basically it's a little box that converts a wired ethernet connection into wireless: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Linksys-WGA54G-Wireless-G-Game-Adapter/dp/B0000DG4WG (Amazon had the most relevant info, believe it or not))
Just hoping for opinions and advice, if anyone's got any other solutions they'd be welcomed as well. Thanks very much.
16 REPLIES
CX
Grafter
Posts: 745
Thanks: 2
Registered: 16-09-2010

Re: Interwebs to Humax freesat box - wireless or homeplugs?

If it was me, I'd probably play it safe and go the Homeplug route (higher throughput, lower latency). I chose Homeplugs for my HTPC and after experimenting with the built-in 802.11g the difference is night and day. It doesn't really matter which you choose if it's for data updates, but video streaming is going to be happier over Homeplugs.
The only downside I can see to Homeplug over wi-fi, is that you have the added power consumption of something at both ends of the link, as opposed to just one with wi-fi. I recall it to be something around 5W each, although I think they enter a low power mode after a period of not transmitting.
Ellis
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 04-02-2011

Re: Interwebs to Humax freesat box - wireless or homeplugs?

Quote from: CX23882
The only downside I can see to Homeplug over wi-fi, is that you have the added power consumption of something at both ends of the link, as opposed to just one with wi-fi. I recall it to be something around 5W each, although I think they enter a low power mode after a period of not transmitting.

I put the meter on my homeplugs and the load was 2 watts each, the router was 6 watts. The small TV is 20 watts. A lot of difference from the old CRT TV at 150 watts.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,443
Thanks: 1,469
Fixes: 87
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Interwebs to Humax freesat box - wireless or homeplugs?

I used homeplugs between my Humax Freesat box and my Billion router with no problems.
There's a Netgear router between the Freesat box and the homeplugs now, but that's another story.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: Interwebs to Humax freesat box - wireless or homeplugs?

I have used both Linksys wireless-G bridges and Devolo 200Mbps homeplugs for this, and found the wireless-G only just coped with continuous data, and started to lose the stream when anything else was done wirelessly - like web browsing on a laptop.
However the homeplugs have been faultless.  Regarding power consumption the homeplugs I use go into standby reduced power mode when the ethernet port is no longer active, and I agree with Ellis's figures (as I measure all my electrical devices) - that single digit wattage is nothing to worry about.
Regarding the Linksys WGA54G,  I own just about every wireless bridge model and version that Linksys have produced and the WGA54G is by far the worst !
It has a habit of connecting to other peoples wireless connections - particularly unencrypted WiFi, and then not returning to the SSID that you specified without manual reconfiguring.
The model I would CHOOSE to use is the WET54G, but check the hardware version supports the level of WiFi encryption you are using - as for example V1.0 only supported WEP, V2 does more, and V3 and V3.1 do WPA etc.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Interwebs to Humax freesat box - wireless or homeplugs?

Looks like homeplugs is the way forward then, thanks very much guys - any particular brands recommended? I've seen a few threads on here that seem to laud the Netgear offerings, any to top those?
Looks like you can get wireless N bridges e.g. http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B003VIWJYI/ref=asc_df_B003VIWJYI5435375?smid=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&tag=googlecou... - anyone reckon they're worth looking at? I suspect they won't be (though that isn't a bad price on the netgear, compared to £65 for the Linksys N offering, but it's always good to keep options open.
Thanks for this.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: Interwebs to Humax freesat box - wireless or homeplugs?

I looked long and hard at homeplugs, read all the reviews, and bought Devolo 200Mbps plug and have been very happy with them.
http://www.devolo.co.uk/consumer/dlan-mains-supply-network-via-powerline.html?l=en
Unfortunately you have just missed the £30 off Devolo "AVmini" homeplug sale at "PC World" where they were the cheapest anywhere last week !  Sad
CX
Grafter
Posts: 745
Thanks: 2
Registered: 16-09-2010

Re: Interwebs to Humax freesat box - wireless or homeplugs?

I bought the Solwise ones, based on Homeplug AV (200Mbps) with the power passthrough  (not sure of the model number now). The latter aspect was useful in the living room where there is only a double socket.
I'd only go for wireless-N if it's based on 5.8GHz, but still would prefer Homeplugs.
MrT
Grafter
Posts: 379
Registered: 30-06-2010

Re: Interwebs to Humax freesat box - wireless or homeplugs?

See my earlier post http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,98030.0.html
Quote from: MrT on 18/08/2011, 17:49
I have been using an Edimax EW-7209APg http://www.edimax.co.uk/e...amp;pl1_id=1&pl2_id=5 in Station Mode to connect my Foxsat PVR to my Thomson TG585v7. My download speed is only 3Mbps but I get a really good picture on iPlayer.
Edit: The EW-7209APg has been discontinued but you could try the EW-7228APn which will do the same thing. It's available on Amazon http://www.amazon.co.uk/E...qid=1313686848&sr=8-1 for about £24.

Steve
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 6,802
Thanks: 305
Registered: 13-07-2009

Re: Interwebs to Humax freesat box - wireless or homeplugs?

I bought these ( Link Below ) not too long ago, Very good home plugs and you can put them Into power saving mode.
http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/netgear-xab1501-powerline-av-adapter-kit-10348484-pdt.html
If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: Interwebs to Humax freesat box - wireless or homeplugs?

Quote from: Matt
I'm wanting to sort out connectivity to my mum's freesat box under the telly, from the router in the dining room next door.

What about running a LAN cable outside?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,128
Thanks: 8
Registered: 28-08-2007

Re: Interwebs to Humax freesat box - wireless or homeplugs?

Homeplugs work a treat I have no problems with some cheapy rubbish 100mbps ones. The radio am people aren't big fans though I hear  Roll eyes
The next time I move house I will be putting ethernet boxes in every room to future proof things best I can. IME all new builds should do that, the amount of time and money I have wasted trying to get data round the house is unbelievable. 
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,479
Thanks: 591
Fixes: 49
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Interwebs to Humax freesat box - wireless or homeplugs?

Quote
Looks like you can get wireless N bridges e.g. http://www.amazon.co.uk/d...p;creativeASIN=B003VIWJYI - anyone reckon they're worth looking at? I suspect they won't be (though that isn't a bad price on the netgear, compared to £65 for the Linksys N offering, but it's always good to keep options open.

Matt, I got one of these not long ago http://www.amazon.co.uk/LM-Technologies-Wireless-Pocket-Router/dp/B003JNETPM/ref=sr_1_3?s=computers&... albeit primarily as a wireless->3g dongle router. It does also have wireless client and bridge modes though. Quite a neat little unit and wireless seems ok. You can get the manual here http://www.lm-ce.com/home/mobile-broadband-computing/LM009/wireless-wi-fi-router-n-3g
Ellis
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 04-02-2011

Re: Interwebs to Humax freesat box - wireless or homeplugs?

These people are very reasonably priced and a full range:- http://www.faculty-x.net
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,828
Thanks: 250
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Interwebs to Humax freesat box - wireless or homeplugs?

So 500Mbps = 200Mbps?