cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

International Caller ID

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,872
Thanks: 1,187
Fixes: 49
Registered: 14-04-2007

International Caller ID

A couple of days ago my landline phone rang and on glancing at the screen I noticed a longer than normal number and the word 'International' below it.
I am aware that exchanges are being upgraded to forward international caller IDs so I assume that mine had now been done.
Curiously my phone hasn't recorded the number in it's log. Undecided
I can't remember the entire number but it did begin 001 so North America.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: International Caller ID

Yes - the exchanges are being upgrade in phases.
Mine also displays the international numbers now but doesn't record them in their memory of recent calls (Gigaset DECT phones)
gtowen
Rising Star
Posts: 353
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: 05-05-2013

Re: International Caller ID

I don't have caller ID but a few weeks ago I had a similar call from an international number. I did 1471 and got a number from India.....
With unknown numbers I google them for more info and got a few hits saying the number was from an Indian call center for a market research company.
SadSadSad
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,872
Thanks: 1,187
Fixes: 49
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: International Caller ID

Quote from: DomS
doesn't record them in their memory of recent calls (Gigaset DECT phones)

Mine is a Gigaset S820a.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,077
Thanks: 44
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: International Caller ID

My BT Graphite 2100 (DECT) and Decor 1200 (corded) both logged the number of a call from NZ - even though the call blocker is set to block "international" Shocked
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
RobPN
Pro
Posts: 806
Thanks: 76
Fixes: 3
Registered: 17-05-2013

Re: International Caller ID

Replying to a slightly dated thread (in case it's still of any interest) as my exchange was only enabled for International CLID 3 weeks ago.
Quote from: Strat
... landline phone rang and on glancing at the screen I noticed a longer than normal number and the word 'International' below it.
...
Curiously my phone hasn't recorded the number in it's log. Undecided
I can't remember the entire number but it did begin 001 so North America.

My phones do record the numbers, although I can't say for '001' as most of my International calls are '0061' (Australia) ...

Quote from: DomS
Mine also displays the international numbers now but doesn't record them in their memory of recent calls (Gigaset DECT phones)


Quote from: Strat
Mine is a Gigaset S820a.

The 2 DECT handsets which I've noticed do record the number are both Gigaset E49H on a N300 base unit - there's also a C610 handset registered to the same base which I assume stores the number but I can't check ATM because I've already cleared the log via one of the E49H handsets.  I wonder if the base station model is relevant?
I've also just checked the call logs on a couple of old wired phones (a BT Converse 1400 and a Betacom CTT1000) and both have stored the International CLID in full.