cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inability to import data files using phpMyAdmin

undertrees

Inability to import data files using phpMyAdmin

I am new to this newsgroup and I appreciate the welcome from your moderator Adie.
I have several websites (with Forec9) which include mysql control of website databases. For several years, uploading my files (CSV or TAB-separated) into the corresponding Tables within my Database has worked fine. I used to FTP my files to cshell.forec9.net and using telnet I was able to use m,y 16 character password to access MySql.
I used to include the uploaded .csv/tab files into the tables using
LOAD DATA INFILW 'MYDATAFILE.CSV' INTO TABLE tablename;
Now I have to come to terms with phpMYADMIN. Using the same mysql password I can see all the tables withing my database and use sql SELECT statements to display, etc. I can even EXPORT the tables from server to client PC.
But how do I transfer a client PC .CSV file into a server (rumpus) Table?
I have tried two methods.
1. I used FTP to transfer the .CSV file to cshell.force9.net. Then, having selected the corresponding
Table, I used the sql command
LOAD DATA INFILW 'MYDATAFILE.CSV' INTO TABLE tablename;
The error message I got was
#1045 Access denied for user 'underw'@'%' (using password: YES)
So, with the corresponding Table in view, I used the IMPORT command of phpMyAdmin. This dialogue allows me to enter the path to the .CSV file on my PC and set the field delimiter to 'comma'.  The error message was:
No data was received to import. Either no filename was submitted or the file size exceeded the max permitted by you PHP configuration. [the filesize in this case was tiny).
I have raised a ticket with PN but they tell me they are not instructed on how to unravel mysql questions. I asked about my privileges and permissions in the new setup and they told me it was all done automatically. What faith!!!
2 REPLIES 2
7up
Community Veteran
Fixes: 17