cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IE10 in W7 64 bit

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,877
Thanks: 1,188
Fixes: 49
Registered: 14-04-2007

IE10 in W7 64 bit

I know this is a long shot but is anyone running Internet Explorer 10 in Windows 7 64 bit.?
The reason I ask is because I installed Skype recently and all I got was a blue square with the Skype logo.
A bit of Googling suggested IE10 was not working correctly so I fired it up and it immediately crashed.
A bit more Googling and various 'solutions' were tried to no avail.
I therefore uninstalled the relevant Windows update which reverted me to IE9 which worked fine...as did Skype.
I then ran Windows Update and allowed it to reinstall IE10 (a Googled solution) and again it crashed upon running...and Skype failed.
I'm now back with IE9 64 bit and everything in the garden is rosy.
Do I therefore conclude that IE10 bit is incompatible with Windows 7 64 bit Undecided

Customer and Forum Moderator.

19 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: IE10 in W7 64 bit

I'm using IE10 on W7x64 but have never seen (unlike earlier version of IE) a 64-bit option....
Edit: Just found this: http://www.ngohq.com/news/23295-how-to-enable-64-bit-internet-explorer-10-in-windows-7-a.html
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,877
Thanks: 1,188
Fixes: 49
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: IE10 in W7 64 bit

Thanks HP.
Admittedly I haven't been able to see if it was 32 or 64 bit before it crashed so I've amended my OP deleting the reference to IE10 64 bit.
The fact remains that it would not run on my system and I'm currently running IE9.
The ultimate solution is a complete trash and reinstall of Windows which I don't want to do.
That was interesting about UAC which I have turned off. I might give that a try but wouldn't want to leave it enabled.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: IE10 in W7 64 bit

I also use Skype - no problems. It's actually installing an update right now!
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,767
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 19
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: IE10 in W7 64 bit

I have seen the Skype problem, although not yet solved it.  It is alleged to be something to do with javascript in Internet Explorer.  You might think that Skype has nothing to do with Internet Explorer but remember who now owns Skype.  Some suggest that resetting Internet Explorer does the trick.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,877
Thanks: 1,188
Fixes: 49
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: IE10 in W7 64 bit

I tried many solutions including that one RR but the one that worked was uninstalling IE10 Smiley
I'll wait for the next version of IE for W7.
This is interesting in Microsoft downloads...
Quote
Toolkit to Disable Automatic Delivery of Internet Explorer 10

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,938
Thanks: 357
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: IE10 in W7 64 bit

Quote from: Strat
This is interesting in Microsoft downloads...
Quote
Toolkit to Disable Automatic Delivery of Internet Explorer 10


Microsoft made one of those for all the previous IE versions.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,767
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 19
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: IE10 in W7 64 bit

To answer the original question, I run both Internet Explorer 10 and Skype on my own Windows 7 64-bit PC without any problems.  But for some bad Microsoft-style reason, when Internet Explorer goes wrong it can also scupper the current version of Skype.
I met this problem last month, gave up trying to fix it in short order on my clients computer and went away to read up on it.  I thought I remembered reading quite a detailed solution involving Internet Explorer and Javascript but unfortunately I cannot track it down now. 
HughA
Grafter
Posts: 142
Registered: 30-07-2011

Re: IE10 in W7 64 bit

I use Internet Explorer 10 32 bit on Windows 7 Professional 64 bit and Skype without any problems.  My preferred browser though is Pale Moon which seems to be rock solid.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,016
Thanks: 539
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: IE10 in W7 64 bit

Quote from: HughA
I use Internet Explorer 10 32 bit on Windows 7 Professional 64 bit and Skype without any problems. 

Indeed it will. AFAIK skype is 32 bit not 64 and as it uses the IE display engine a 32 bit skype will work perfectly with a 32bit IE rendering engine but not a 64bit renderer.
@ReedRichards: Skype uses IE internally to display html content in the chat windows. All those smileys are actually displayed in a html document which is displayed using IE.
It's not IE 10 thats the problem, it's the 64bit rendering engine that can't be used inside skype that is the problem.
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,877
Thanks: 1,188
Fixes: 49
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: IE10 in W7 64 bit

I've just downloaded the 32 bit version of IE10 and it refuses to install telling me to download the appropriate version for my OS.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,767
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 19
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: IE10 in W7 64 bit

Quote from: Sprite
@ReedRichards: Skype uses IE internally to display html content in the chat windows. All those smileys are actually displayed in a html document which is displayed using IE.
It's not IE 10 thats the problem, it's the 64bit rendering engine that can't be used inside skype that is the problem.

Interesting to know about why IE gets involved in Skype.
I don'r know if this sheds any light:
Quote
For IE10, we’ve changed IE such that Manager Processes always run as 64bit processes when running on a 64bit processor running a 64bit version of Windows. This improves security among other things. We do not expect that this change will meaningfully impact compatibility, because the Manager Process is designed not to run 3rd party content, and thus there’s little opportunity for anyone to take a dependency upon the Frame Process’ bitness.
In Internet Explorer on the Desktop, by default, Content Processes remain at 32bit by default for compatibility with 32bit ActiveX controls, Toolbars, BHOs, etc. Even when you directly launch the 64bit iexplore.exe executable, you will still have a 64bit Manager Process that hosts only 32bit Content Processes. If you want to enable 64bit Content Processes for the Desktop, you must tick the Enable Enhanced Protected Mode option in the Security section of Internet Explorer’s Tools > Internet Options > Advanced tab. When this option is enabled, all Content Processes that are running in Protected Mode (e.g. Internet Zone and Restricted Zone, by default) will begin to use 64bit Content Processes.
  .
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,877
Thanks: 1,188
Fixes: 49
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: IE10 in W7 64 bit

Please bear in mind the fact that my IE10 immediately crashes upon opening but 'downgrade' to IE9 and that runs fine.
The Skype issue is what lead me to the IE10 problem as I was aware that Skype uses Internet Explorer to display.
As I've said earlier the ultimate fix is a windows reinstall as Microsoft's fixes don't fix it.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 14,016
Thanks: 539
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: IE10 in W7 64 bit

Quote from: ReedRichards
Quote from: Sprite
@ReedRichards: Skype uses IE internally to display html content in the chat windows. All those smileys are actually displayed in a html document which is displayed using IE.
It's not IE 10 thats the problem, it's the 64bit rendering engine that can't be used inside skype that is the problem.

Interesting to know about why IE gets involved in Skype.

Yes it's been that way for many years. Yahoo and MSN also used it in their own messengers too. Many of the control panel applets also use it and I think windows media player does too.
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,877
Thanks: 1,188
Fixes: 49
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: IE10 in W7 64 bit

So many people out there having the same problem with IE10 and it also involves KB2670838 update.
The solution most people are using is revert to IE9 as have I Smiley

Customer and Forum Moderator.