cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'd like to try Linux

hulls
Grafter

I'd like to try Linux

My son's laptop has given up the ghost (basically Windows 7 just stopped working and the recovery partition hasn't worked.)
I could buy a set of recovery discs (he didn't make his own ) Roll_eyes
But I thought about giving Linux  try, as I'd never tried it before
So as a complete newbie - how do Igo about it? How much will it cost me?
John
24 REPLIES 24
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: I'd like to try Linux

Have a look at http://www.ubuntu.com/download/ubuntu/download
For a "complete newbie", I would recommend choosing (at step #1) Version "10.04 LTS" rather than the latest release.
Waldo
Grafter

You may also like to give Kubuntu a try; its largely personal preference whether you opt for the GNOME desktop environment of Ubuntu or KDE on Kubuntu. You may find KDE is a little more Windows-like.
Downloads can be booted and run from CD/DVD or USB memory sticks; you can get a feel for both GNOME and KDE without having to install to hard disk first.
Strat
Community Veteran
Fixes: 565

Linux is 'Open Source' and as such the vast majority of distributions (versions) are free of charge.
Windows 10 Firefox 109.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
w23
Pro
Fixes: 4

Have a look here: http://distrowatch.com/ for some idea of just how much is available.
I'd personally recommend Linux Mint above Ubuntu (and it's currently top of the page hit rankings).
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
HairyMcbiker
All Star
Fixes: 21

As has been said above Linux is FREE (of cost to buy & use).