cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Humax Foxsat HDR

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,353
Thanks: 1,898
Fixes: 176
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Humax Foxsat HDR

My daughter has a Foxsat HDR which is showing an error on it's display of E-FE.
A quick Google reveals this:
Quote
E-FE
Definition : Failed Compare After Flash Write
Possible Remedy To Rectify Error : The Flash Memory Of The STB Is Damaged* You Need To Change The Main Board (CPU Board). Return Your STB To The Retailer To Be Replaced.

I just wondered if anyone else had come across this and if there is a quick fix procedure.
I have emailed Humax support and await their reply.
The unit is under 12 months old...until the middle of November this year.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 64.0 (64-bit)

16 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,893
Thanks: 294
Registered: ‎12-08-2007

Re: Humax Foxsat HDR

Strat, I think you have done the right thing in emailing Humax.  I have one of their boxes and have found them very good at dealing with any email query from me. I'm sure you will get a positive response.
Sounds like you may have to return it for repair/replacement.
nadger
Rising Star
Posts: 4,498
Thanks: 46
Registered: ‎13-04-2007

Re: Humax Foxsat HDR

Recently received email.
Quote
HUMAX MAILER                        TELE: 0844 669 0677
============                        ===================
Freesat software update and new website launched

Dear Humax user,
We are pleased to release the following software update for the
Foxsat-HDR models that resolves the recent issue of having a
delay in scheduling recordings via the EPG.

New software updates
--------------------
New software updates for all Foxsat-HDR models
Foxsat-HDR models version HPRSFCI 1.00.17 (Broadcast)
Starting: 13/10/2011 @ 11am
New version first time broadcast
To check the full release notes of this update please click here
http://www.humaxdigital.com/uk/support/


For further information please do not hesitate to contact Humax
customer services by email at uksupport@humax-digital.co.uk or
on the telephone on 0844 669 8800.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,353
Thanks: 1,898
Fixes: 176
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Humax Foxsat HDR

I've a sneaky feeling that it was in the process of updating it's firmware over the air on the 13th/14th when there was a power cut leading to a corrupt firmware.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 64.0 (64-bit)

Vip3r
Grafter
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎22-10-2009

Re: Humax Foxsat HDR

Have you tried the process for manually updating the flash via USB?
Humax Update 1.02.20
MartinGoose
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-10-2010

Re: Humax Foxsat HDR

Quote from: Vip3r
Have you tried the process for manually updating the flash via USB?http://www.avforums.com/forums/freesat/1517610-media-file-server-bundle-foxsat-hdr-release-4-0-a.html

Yes but take care to use the correct firmware
http://www.humaxdigital.com/uk/support/downloadcenter_model.aspx?category_seq=65
Then, if your box is networked, maybe install the Media & File Server Bundle for the Foxsat HDR by raydon. See:
http://www.avforums.com/forums/freesat/1517610-media-file-server-bundle-foxsat-hdr-release-4-0-a.htm...
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Humax Foxsat HDR

Just looked at mine, it has software 1.00.17 updated 20th Sept
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,353
Thanks: 1,898
Fixes: 176
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Humax Foxsat HDR

Quote from: Vip3r
Have you tried the process for manually updating the flash via USB

Yes I have but it failed but I will be downloading a fresh copy onto a clean drive and trying again.
It's a pity it won't update direct from a site.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 64.0 (64-bit)

randpwar
Grafter
Posts: 1,308
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Humax Foxsat HDR

@strat    It might be worth mentioning that I had to do a manual upgrade to a Phillips HDR and found out that it would only find the file on a FAT formatted drive rather than FAT32 
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-04-2007

Re: Humax Foxsat HDR

I got one Philips 3D Blu-ray and a Philips Blu-ray and both will except FAT16 and FAT32 drives.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,353
Thanks: 1,898
Fixes: 176
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Humax Foxsat HDR

Thanks randpwar. Smiley
I have an identical unit to my daughters' and have updated mine using the same stick as I used on hers with no problems.
Hopefully Humax support can offer a solution.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 64.0 (64-bit)

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,353
Thanks: 1,898
Fixes: 176
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Humax Foxsat HDR

Update:
Humax Support have replied to my email and offered either a repair or exchange. I've requested an exchange.
All good so far Smiley

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 64.0 (64-bit)

Community Veteran
Posts: 18,893
Thanks: 294
Registered: ‎12-08-2007

Re: Humax Foxsat HDR

A good result Strat.  They're a good company IMO.
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,026
Thanks: 1,694
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Humax Foxsat HDR

Quote from: Strat

My daughter has a Foxsat HDR which is showing an error on it's display of E-FE.

Erm..... shouldn`t this be posted in "Hardware.... the place to discus..... "    ahem......  Roll eyes
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,353
Thanks: 1,898
Fixes: 176
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Humax Foxsat HDR

Good point shutter Smiley
I expected a Mod to move it Wink

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 64.0 (64-bit)