cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Humax FVP4000T

FIXED
jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,155
Thanks: 3,671
Fixes: 136
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Humax FVP4000T

Anyone got one of these (or similar) and can answer me a question? In the 'Network Connection Status', the Primary DNS Server is shown as 192.168.1.254 - the 582N's Gateway address. I thought this should be the PN DNS server address? and the Secondary is 0.0.0.0 .

John
6 REPLIES 6
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,085
Thanks: 3,386
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Humax FVP4000T

Fix

The 582n , like most routers, runs a DNS cache so it supplies it's own address to any dhcp clients. It then forwards on any dns requests to the actual PN  dns servers.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,155
Thanks: 3,671
Fixes: 136
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Humax FVP4000T

Thnks for the quick response, @MisterW . So, you are saying those settings are correct? I apologise for asking dumb questions, but as I had to set this up wirelessly, I thought maybe it had got its' knickers in a twist and picked up incorrect data.

John
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,085
Thanks: 3,386
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Humax FVP4000T

@jab1  yes, they are correct. The primary DNs will be the router and I dont think theres any point in it giving out a secondary one ( hence the 0.0.0.0 ) . If it's not responding on the primary then it's probably not going to be routing to the internet either!

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,155
Thanks: 3,671
Fixes: 136
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Humax FVP4000T

You learn something new every day 😁

I kind of thought that would be the answer, but although I've done lots of computer work over the years, I've never done much on the networking side, so asked to confirm it.

All I've got to do now is ask Humax why the My5 app doesn't work.

John
wotsup
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,809
Thanks: 1,341
Registered: ‎21-11-2018

Re: Humax FVP4000T


@jab1 wrote:

 

All I've got to do now is ask Humax why the My5 app doesn't work.


https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/my5-problem/page/5

seems you are not the only one with Humax My5 app problems

 

jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,155
Thanks: 3,671
Fixes: 136
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Humax FVP4000T

I know, @wotsup  - which is why I have added my details to the open case that 5 have, so I get information from a reliable source.

It's not a big issue (for me) as I watch very little TV, and if I'm that desperate, I can always use catchup on the laptop.

John