cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to change username?

Sadie
Grafter

How to change username?

Can somebody help me please?  I am new to Plusnet and want to set up my email address, and it seems that because my username is my first and surnames (say, janedoe), then my email address will be jane@janedoe.plus.com.  I can find where to change my password but not my username.
Thanks if you can help.
10 REPLIES 10
Peter_Vaughan
Grafter

Re: How to change username?

There is no facility to change your username because it is linked to so many systems internally within Plusnet and changing it involves a lot of manual work. It is sometimes possible before an account is activated but not afterwards.
I suggest you get a domain name and use that for your email. You can host a domain name for free on most plusnet accounts, but make sure you register it elsewhere and just host it here as plusnets charges for domain registration are very high. I use www.daily.co.uk. There are instructions on how to host domains under help & support.
acr
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

As you are new to Plusnet you are presumably on Plusnet Value or Extra and neither of these accounts includes free hosting for a domain name as suggested above.
If you don't like the format of your Plusnet email address then it is probably best to use a service such as Gmail or Hotmail which has the added advantage that you won't have to change your email address every time you change your ISP.
pierre_pierre
Grafter

bear in mind that the bit before @ can be anything you want so in my case I have mr@pierrepierre.   you could use mrs, miss or ms@janedoe
Sadie
Grafter

I am sure that the person who I signed up with over the phone said something along the lines of - you can use your name as your username for now; 'for now' suggests that I would be able to change it.  I couldn't wait to get rid of gmail (which I've been using temporarily) - I hate it; and I don't trust Hotmail.