cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hosting a web sit - tricky...

MaxTheDog
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎29-10-2021

Hosting a web sit - tricky...

Hi,

A long story short, I've decided to host a domain on my Raspberrypi. I bought my domain, set it up so that it would use my Plusnet IP address, but when using a browser on my PC to access www.blahblah.org, I get a page not found error.

I have to say that up until now, I've been editing and using the plusnet web space on my Raspberrypi with no problem, so port forwarding seems to be set correctly.

I'm out of ideas, and any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

Max.

25 REPLIES 25
Champnet
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 859
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Hosting a web sit - tricky...

Can you tracert or ping your website to see if it's reaching your router ?

Mook
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 870
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎27-12-2019

Re: Hosting a web sit - tricky...

@MaxTheDog - In addition to the above have you got public DNS that resolves the address to your (static) PlusNet IP? 

MaxTheDog
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎29-10-2021

Re: Hosting a web sit - tricky...

Hi,

On the domain purchasing website, I created a DNS record to point my website to the static IP address.

As to pinging the website, I've never tried. I suppose you just enter the web site address rather than the IP address (?)

Cheers,

Max

MaxTheDog
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎29-10-2021

Re: Hosting a web sit - tricky...

Hi,

Just tried pinging it, and ping can't find it. Pinged Google and all is fine.

Thanks,

Max.

Champnet
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 859
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Hosting a web sit - tricky...

Not every router will respond to a ping.
On your web hosting company have you set the A record to point at your PN address ?

Mook
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 870
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎27-12-2019

Re: Hosting a web sit - tricky...

When you ping does it resolve to the correct (public) IP address?

 

MaxTheDog
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎29-10-2021

Re: Hosting a web sit - tricky...

Hi,

Yes, I did this yesterday. Is there anything I need to do at the PN end?

Thanks Max.

MaxTheDog
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎29-10-2021

Re: Hosting a web sit - tricky...

Hi,

No, it just threw it out saying it was unable to find it. Is there a more verbose version of the ping command?

Thanks,

Max.

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,520
Thanks: 6,306
Fixes: 1,459
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Hosting a web sit - tricky...

Have you forwarded port 80?
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Champnet
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 859
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Hosting a web sit - tricky...

Nothing to do with PN setup.

Try :

nslookup your-domain-name

The non authoritative answer should tell you where the site is….

 

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,520
Thanks: 6,306
Fixes: 1,459
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Hosting a web sit - tricky...

The fact that they're pointing the DNS at their PN ip would suggest otherwise - the Pi will be on their PN connection behind a router and without port forwarding would fail.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Champnet
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 859
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Hosting a web sit - tricky...

There's 3 elements to check : Is the website pointing to the right IP address. Does the router forward corresponding external ports to correct internal ports. Is the webserver working correctly on the Raspberry. 

@MaxTheDog  Quick check. Assuming you haven't complicated the network the Raspberry should be on IP 192.1681.x, with the webserver listening to port 80. Using a browser can you see the website on address 192.168.1.x:80

 

MaxTheDog
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎29-10-2021

Re: Hosting a web sit - tricky...

Hi,

Ho Hum, that I'm not sure about. I went into port forwarding on my router, and no port numbers were mentioned. It came up with a list of games and programs. I selected HTTP, but still no port numbers mentioned.

There are various versions of plusnet modems out there, and I have no sight, so not sure which one I have, whilst recognizing that this makes it more difficult to answer my question.

Should I be in Settings or Advanced Settings?

Thanks,

Max.

MaxTheDog
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎29-10-2021

Re: Hosting a web sit - tricky...

Hi,

NSLookup couldn't find it either. Very odd...

Thanks,

 

Max.