cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Home Networking

Mykee

Home Networking

Hello all. This is my first time so please be gentle with me.
I’m not sure this is the correct place to post this but I am having problems getting my home network to work since I starting using the Tompson Router.
Previously I had a single wireless gateway (for laptops) connected to a Netgear Router for a Dell desktop and everything was fine. Now the Dell and others appear in my network window but when I try to access them I get the message “\\Dell is not accessible. You might not have permission..............Blah Blah. The specified network provider name is invalid”.  Also in the network window is a Dell:Mum_Dad: Media devices (Mum_Dad being one of the user names on the dell). When I access this it opens Windows Media Player but the music displayed is the music on my machine.
I hope this makes some sense. Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance Mike O
Cry
5 REPLIES 5
Mykee

Re: Home Hetworking

I forgot to add.
3 machines running Vista Home Premium
1 machine running Windows 7
I have upgraded router firmware
using cat 5 ethernet cable
Mike O.
7up
Community Veteran
Fixes: 17

From my POV it looks like 2 issues here. A possible conflict with the Thompson router and / or a problem with Windows. Since you've changed your router I would suggest it may be that at fault.
Is it definitely a router and not just a modem? - Reason I ask is I bought a cheapy from ebay recently which was just a modem and got caught out and had to find an external router to make it all work again and route data packets around the network. My own stupid fault really.
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 393