cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hacking a SKY netgear router

Tyreal74
Grafter
Posts: 292
Registered: 31-07-2007

Hacking a SKY netgear router

ive come across a sky router that is no longe rbeing used but i was wondering if anyone knows how to hack it back to a normal netgear, ive tried flashing it but cant find the right firmware.
basically the netgears work better withj vista than the belkin i have so i want a spangly netgear
edit: wrong forum - move plx
13 REPLIES
mcgurka
Grafter
Posts: 764
Registered: 09-10-2007

Re: Hacking a SKY netgear router

right, so the sky router is an adsl router, so all you need to do is get into the web interface, disable remote access (if it is on), setup ADSL settings, and you should be good to go?
Or at least, thats what I did to mine..
Username and P/W for the router are most likely:
U: admin
P: sky
If you need any help, just gimmie a shout!
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Hacking a SKY netgear router

Will the ADSL Realm not be locked to Sky, or do they not do that?
mcgurka
Grafter
Posts: 764
Registered: 09-10-2007

Re: Hacking a SKY netgear router

Not that I am aware of, they may have started to lock it now, but not on the router I worked with.
If they do, then you can try forcing a firmware onto the box. Off the top of my head it is a DG834G, or an DG834GT but I cant remember which.
Let me have a quick check of a box and I will try and link the firmware to remove the horrible Sky Lock in Tongue
Tyreal74
Grafter
Posts: 292
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Hacking a SKY netgear router

its the locked one.
and i think its the GTB not GT
hence why i was trying to flash it Smiley
paulby
Grafter
Posts: 1,619
Registered: 26-07-2007

Re: Hacking a SKY netgear router

Have you tried the procedure here on the SkyUser forums?
Tyreal74
Grafter
Posts: 292
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Hacking a SKY netgear router

nope, but i will try, thanks
pcoventry76
Grafter
Posts: 950
Registered: 27-08-2007

Re: Hacking a SKY netgear router

imanaged to reflash mine easily and use it on another ISP
Tyreal74
Grafter
Posts: 292
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Hacking a SKY netgear router

well thats what im trying to do and use it for PN Smiley
pcoventry76
Grafter
Posts: 950
Registered: 27-08-2007

Re: Hacking a SKY netgear router

just use the recovery tool ( google it) and then reflash it - takes about 5 minutes
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,441
Thanks: 334
Fixes: 4
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Hacking a SKY netgear router

I installed one for a friend the other day, and I couldn't even find where to enter your ADSL username and password!
The router connected to the internet straight away, and I didn't have to enter anything into it at all, so I assume they pre-configure them with the details.
As it worked, I just left it alone .. but I wonder if it was locked, or I just missed where the ADSL settings should be.
Tyreal74
Grafter
Posts: 292
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Hacking a SKY netgear router

if theyre on sky then it will, it has un/pw preinstalled
paulby
Grafter
Posts: 1,619
Registered: 26-07-2007

Re: Hacking a SKY netgear router

Quote from: Pcoventry
just use the recovery tool ( google it) and then reflash it - takes about 5 minutes

The link in my post further up has all the details - including a link to the recovery tool. 
Here's the link again anyway
SkyUser Forum » Flashing your router firmware
holdtight
Grafter
Posts: 1,634
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Hacking a SKY netgear router

I recently re-flashed a sky locked netgear using the current firmware downloaded from the netgear site
I wasn't too bothered whether it worked or not as i picked it up for nothing and only tried it to see if it could be done but it worked without problem and is now usable with any ISP