cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HP Compaq D500 Startup Problem

penneck
Aspiring Pro

HP Compaq D500 Startup Problem

Those who have followed the saga of my GX270 will shudder now to read that I have been given a Compaq D500 PC which is perfectly good, but just needs a hard drive with an operating system on it. As with the GX270, I plan to move a hard disk across from an old pc, and scrap the old pc. This hard drive has another copy of XP Pro on it, and I have a Product Key for it, so it is legal.
I've never worked on a Compaq before, so I expected similar problems as with the GX270, but no. The Compaq Bios tells me it can see the hard drive, so I would have thought the hard drive had power and the data cable wired correctly. However, if I try to boot up, the pc goes through the initial POST but then does nothing.
Not only that, but now I cant get into the BIOS - it seems to start, but then comes out again straight away.
The pc does complain about the date and time stamp, so it looks like I need to get a new battery for the motherboard. Could that be the cause of the problem? Or just the first of many?
Any useful tips gratefully received
25 REPLIES 25
techguy
Grafter

Re: HP Compaq D500 Startup Problem

Get the battery replaced and go from there I'd say as it will lose the config each time mains power is removed.
penneck
Aspiring Pro

I've now changed the battery, but am getting no further accessing the hard drive. The Bios suggests it can see the hard drive, in that it tells me size of the drive, and the boot up screen tells me a manufacturer name and model number. However, it seemed to be able to see the hard drive even when I put a twist in the ribbon cable to the daughterboard, so that may not be reliable.