cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HG612 - still ok?

throwawayforum
Hooked

HG612 - still ok?

I've been using a HG612 for about five years and recently switched to plusnet. I see a lot of rather convoluted talk online about various types of modem being better depending on what kit is in the local Cab (LCBUS)? 

Is this true or is it simply just a waste of money to replace?

12 REPLIES 12
Baldrick1
Fixes: 415

Re: HG612 - still ok?

This Huawei modem works fine with Plusnet. They can also be unlocked so that you can get detailed performance statistics. If you have a decent router then stick with this combo.

I understand that whilst they may work better than an ECI one if you are connected to a Huawei fibre cabinet., they work just as well as an ECI modem if you’re connected to an ECI cabinet.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

pjmarsh
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 20

LCBUS, is that your exchange code?  If so, I'm in Burscough as well!

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

throwawayforum
Hooked

The Burscough gang checking in!
Baldrick1

If you want to know which make of fibre cabinet you are connected to first identity the cabinet, see https://kitz.co.uk/adsl/cabinet-lookup.htm, then look at it and compare with this. https://kitz.co.uk/adsl/fttc-cabinets.htm

Moderator and Customer

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Fixes: 76

Did you not get a router when you switched? The Hub 1 does need an Openreach modem, and normally only cost the price of postage, and can be very handy if you have line problems.

throwawayforum
Hooked

I did recieve a router but I did not even open the box - I never use the ISP provided stuff
VileReynard
Hero
Fixes: 20

@throwawayforum wrote: