cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HD widescreen webcam

chuffchuff
Rising Star
Posts: 162
Thanks: 11
Registered: ‎25-01-2011

HD widescreen webcam

Any recommendations for a full HD 1080p video widescreen webcam calling on Skype, please?
Budget up to £100. I would prefer to use a separate mike.
Thanks.
6 REPLIES
DaveyH
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,458
Thanks: 263
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎15-11-2012

Re: HD widescreen webcam

Logitech C9x0 range of webcams are excellent.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,341
Thanks: 1,893
Fixes: 174
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: HD widescreen webcam

+1 on Logitech.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 64.0 (64-bit)

chuffchuff
Rising Star
Posts: 162
Thanks: 11
Registered: ‎25-01-2011

Re: HD widescreen webcam

Quote from: DaveyH
Logitech C9x0 range of webcams are excellent.

Thank you.
chuffchuff
Rising Star
Posts: 162
Thanks: 11
Registered: ‎25-01-2011

Re: HD widescreen webcam

Quote from: chuffchuff
Any recommendations for a full HD 1080p video widescreen webcam calling on Skype, please?
Budget up to £100. I would prefer to use a separate mike.
Thanks.

I purchased a HD webcam & installed it, tested it on Skype using the sound playback.
I recorded some video to the pc, then used the Skype to complete the setup. Everything fine!
I had a call in to me on Skype this morning - great sound, clear as a bell,
no video.
I have not got Fibre Optic.
Does one have to have Fibre Optic to use a HD cam on Skype/internet?
MJN
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,104
Thanks: 55
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎26-08-2010

Re: HD widescreen webcam

Did you click the video icon?
There is no requirement to have a fibre connection for video, however the quality of video (and therefore whether it'll go all the way up to HD) is determined by various factors such as bandwidth, latency, CPU etc for both callers. Skype will determine what's possible though so you should only need to make sure it's enabled.
chuffchuff
Rising Star
Posts: 162
Thanks: 11
Registered: ‎25-01-2011

Re: HD widescreen webcam

Thank you for the suggestion.
The culprit - a faulty webcam - now replaced by the vendor & now we are up and running.
dick:quote