cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Graphics card or PSU?

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Graphics card or PSU?

I just upgraded my GC to a GTX-760. EVERY game I have tried has crashed either to the desktop or brought the whole PC down.
I am debating if it is the psu that isn't powerful enough (it is a 500W I got with the PC) or whether the gc is at fault.
PC is an Athlon FX850 with 8Gb, 2 Hdd & 2 ssd's. (only one of each active in my dual boot)
Any ideas on how to test further?
43 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,464
Thanks: 1,441
Fixes: 34
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Graphics card or PSU?

According to the specs I've just read the minimum PSU is 500W which is what you have, but you also have 4 disks that will consume power even though 2 of them are unused, they'll still need power. My first port of call would be Video Drivers getting the latest and greatest. If that fails to do anything then I'd get new PSU 900W+
http://www.geforce.co.uk/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gtx-760/specifications
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Graphics card or PSU?

Latest (M$) driver installed, 1st March.
Bummer. Will have to wait for a new psu now.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,238
Thanks: 1,130
Fixes: 3
Registered: 06-11-2014

Re: Graphics card or PSU?

Quote from: Hairy
(it is a 500W I got with the PC)

Is that a 500W Peak or 500W Constant? If the former, yes, PSU needs to be evicted for one that can supply 500W Constant... Smiley
It's another example of fudging figures to make things look better than they are, a 500W Peak supply is usually only good for about 200-300 Watts constant, which is a bit of a con...
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Graphics card or PSU?

No idea. Can't afford a 900W psu, so have ordered a 750W one 38A on the 12V line. Hopefully it will be OK.
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Graphics card or PSU?

900w may be a bit over the top , i have a gtx980 with a  750w PSU .
But what does make a difference is buy a decent make , and if our GFX requires extra  PCIE 6pin power plug get one with a dedicated plug , not one with a molex connector  Wink  
https://www.scan.co.uk/products/550w-corsair-vs-series-vs550-85-eff-80plus-white-230v-eu-certified-1...; something like this
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Graphics card or PSU?

The one I ordered has a 6 pin connector. (Along with 4 sata, 3 molex, 1 floppy ! Why do they still add floppy connectors? I haven't had a floppy disk drive in a PC for over 10 years now. I do have a usb one somewhere for when I need to use a fdd but last time was over 4 years ago.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,238
Thanks: 1,130
Fixes: 3
Registered: 06-11-2014

Re: Graphics card or PSU?

Quote from: Hairy
Why do they still add floppy connectors?

Because some front-panel accessories still use them, of course... Grin
nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,712
Thanks: 120
Fixes: 2
Registered: 11-02-2013

Re: Graphics card or PSU?

Quote from: Hairy
The one I ordered has a 6 pin connector. (Along with 4 sata, 3 molex, 1 floppy ! Why do they still add floppy connectors? I haven't had a floppy disk drive in a PC for over 10 years now. I do have a usb one somewhere for when I need to use a fdd but last time was over 4 years ago.

multi card readers and fan controllers will use the floppy power supply (depending on the make) as can some other customisation things like case lights
as to the PSU if it isn't rated 80+ bronze gold silver or platinum its not worth the price, however don't get anything listed as 80+white or just saying 80+ certified as they tend to be on an equal par with unrated £10 in the O.E.M brown box from years gone by before it embraced a new direction as P.C. RipYouOffShop....
as to the cause of the crash, if your getting a frame freeze to black screen and stuck or blackscreen rebooting  then its the power supply (and should be triggering improper shutdown warnings in the log on reboot)
if your getting bsod's then the error message should give you the problem when you google the event ID
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Graphics card or PSU?

Which one have you ordered ?Huh
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Graphics card or PSU?

My card reader uses the USB socket on the main board for power. Not got anything that actually uses a floppy connector.
I ordered an Alpine 750W one from ebay.
Not the cheapest or the dearest but was looking at the 12V line more than anything else as that is what powers the gc.
I can't really afford a "decent" psu, my budget is stretched buying this one. Didn't plan on buying anything else this month.
The crash is down to a semi-power off state, no video audio a buzz.
nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,712
Thanks: 120
Fixes: 2
Registered: 11-02-2013

Re: Graphics card or PSU?

i'm going to assume you meant something like fx 8350 in your original post, in which case the mobo should have an 8 pin connector for the psu,
the psu you linked to only has a 4 min cpu plug, you can use it with a 4 >8 adaptor but I wouldn't advise it, much better ot buy something that is meant to be used for a newer system.
in which case this would be a much better choice http://www.cclonline.com/product/162162/CIT-ATV-500W/Power-Supplies/CiT-500W-Active-85-80-Bronze-Cer...
not least of which because its a certified PSU but also because it has the right type and number of connectors for you equipment and of course provides the raw power for the job ..... of course it might be a pound or two more in price but unlike the alpine unit it wont be overtaxed from the get go

just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Graphics card or PSU?

But that is only a 500W psu, wouldn't I be in the same position?
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,945
Thanks: 1,749
Fixes: 133
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Graphics card or PSU?

I've seen group tests of similarly rated power supplies where some manufacturers have been very economical with the truth regarding their products.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Graphics card or PSU?

Just checked the PSU fitted.
Only 18A on the 12V line, probably why I am having issues. Also only a 4way mb connector, NB this was supplied fitted to with the motherboard & cpu.
Wondering if it is a typo on the spec of the CiT one, it says only 2A on 3.3&5V lines.
"
DC
Output
Max +3.3V +5V +12V1 -12V +5VSB
2A 2A 39A 0.5A 2A
500W
"
I assume it should be 20A. But at that it is 650W in total with everything maxed out.