cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Google Chrome

rena
Grafter
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎21-01-2011

Google Chrome

Sorry not sure where to post this!  I use Google Chrome but for the past few days I haven't been able to get into any websites. I get various messages like telling me to check my broadband connection (but I am able to use IE), or 'the app is currently unreachable' or 'google cannot reach my webspace' ( I changed my webspace to google search then yahoo, but none of them worked).  I have no idea what to do. I looked at the Google help page and it said to look under the bonnet, but I checked and it's the same as my daughter's. It also said to make sure the laptop security allows Google Chrome in, but i'm not sure how to do this?  I installed McAfee from Plusnet about 10days ago and it worked ok, and it's only in the past 3/4 days that I haven't been able to get Chrome to connect to any sites. I've also uninstalled and installed it 3 times. Could someone please tell me how to get Chrome working again? thanks
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Google Chrome

moved to Windows as it is clearly a problem with it.
Can you advise the version of Windows you are using
rena
Grafter
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎21-01-2011

Re: Google Chrome

It's Windows 7.  Thanks for moving it Oldjim (wasn't sure where to put it, it mentioned broadband so I put it in there)
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Google Chrome

As a cross check can you try using Firefox and see if that works
In Internet Explorer are the LAN settings like this picture
rena
Grafter
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎21-01-2011

Re: Google Chrome

hI Jim, Firefox works, and the settings are the same as your pictures.  Thank you for trying to help me but I have to go out just now. Will try to get back tonight or tomorrow.
adagio
Grafter
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎03-04-2008

Re: Google Chrome

Firewall settings?
Moncrieffe500
Grafter
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎19-06-2011

Re: Google Chrome

maybe try a system restore to 10 days ago when it worked?
rena
Grafter
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎21-01-2011

Re: Google Chrome

Sorry, don't really know much about Firewalls. It's McAfee (from Plusnet). It was Windows firewall but McAfee seems to have automatically 'disabled' the Windows one. I looked at the settings but they don't mean anything to me. I don't know where to look to see if any sights are blocked. The funny thing is now that any new sights I looked at (so far) are now working, but ones that I have been using all the time like Facebook and Smallworlds (my daughter) don't work!
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Google Chrome

Do the old sites just not work when using your existing favourites or also if you type in the address yourself