cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Good Linux Product

BenG
Grafter

Good Linux Product

Hi I have a laptop that come with windows vista , but was thinking of having a go at Linux, What will be the best one for me as I am only starting out with linux
I had a look on the net but there seems to be loads of Linux os's you can download but I am not sure on the best one.
any help be good thanks,
31 REPLIES 31
jkerr82508
Grafter

Re: Good Linux Product

This page gives a reasonably objective summary of some linux distributions:
http://distrowatch.com/dwres.php?resource=major
Of those I would say the easiest for someone new to linux are (in no particular order)  Mint, Ubuntu, Suse, PCLinuxOS and Mageia. Every linux user will have a different opinion as to which is best.
Jim
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 385

I'd suggest looking at Ubuntu or Linux Mint. Have a read of this http://lifehacker.com/5993297/ubuntu-vs-mint-which-linux-distro-is-better-for-beginners.
Download the live CD's and try them for yourself, you can run from the CD without installing. Check that all your hardware is supported e.g wireless and see which you prefer...

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Anonymous
Not applicable

I would try Ubuntu, once installed, first run the updater and then install the gnome desktop.
By doing that, you can choose (and therefore experiment) with which desktop environment you prefer (selectable at start up) - Unity or Gnome, as they are significantly different in the way they work, but each have their merits.
I would also recommend starting with version 12.04, as that is a LTS (Long Time Support) version, which is stable and relatively debugged compared with version 13.04 which is due to be released on 25th April.
HairyMcbiker
All Star
Fixes: 21