Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fraud

gleneagles
Aspiring Legend
Fixes: 17

Fraud

If you were using Linux for your online bank transactions and lost money due to fraud would the bank still reimburse your loss ?
I Ask because the bank often includes in it's literature that you must take reasonable precautions such as having anti virus software installed etc, Linux does not need this so could the bank use that as a  get out clause ?
I Will also raise this question in the Linux Mint forums.
We are born into history and history is born into us.
17 REPLIES 17
HairyMcbiker
All Star
Fixes: 21

Re: Fraud

I have been using Linux for over 6 years and using on-line banking all that time. I have NEVER had any issues. You are more likely to get a problem using an internet cafe than using Linux.
I think it would be a case of PROVE the fraud was done on my PC. Since malware/virii don't work in Linux I think they would have no leg to stand on.
VileReynard
Hero
Fixes: 20

Simplest to load something that says it checks viruses and not mention what type of OS is used.

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

w23
Pro
Fixes: 4

Here's one opinion (with recomendations): http://www.linux.com/learn/tutorials/284124-myth-busting-is-linux-immune-to-viruses
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
HairyMcbiker
All Star

I believe that most Linux Virus scanners scan for M$ virii, not Linux ones.
E.g. in that post above:
That email-strapped virus could easily make its way to a Windows machine where it will happily begin its infectious life.

I have yet to come across a URL that has done any direct damage to a Linux machine.