cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Firefox + default Google search on Plusnet.

nbk
Grafter
Posts: 116
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-01-2015

Firefox + default Google search on Plusnet.

Bit of a strange one...has anything broken at plusnet with regards to IP locations? Smiley
Google search from the firefox search bar uses IP locations to send you to the current google homepage and for a long time this has worked and sent me to google.co.uk
However lately it hasnt got the location at all and keeps sending me to the US (.com) page which while searching normally isnt such an issue, when wanting more local things like shopping it's an issue since it sends you to US results for US shoppings sites.
At the moment, through a lot of hopping, I'm on an IP that correctly sends me to .co.uk for search results and I've come across a couple of others gateway hopping that also worked correctly but for the most part on Plusnet IPs (and incidentally on my fathers BT connection) we incorrectly get sent to the google.com site.
At the moment google is reporting my location (at the bottom of search results) as "Greater London - From your Internet address" however when i get directed to .com the location is "unknown".
This has only started occuring recently...and yes it got a bit annoying and forced me to gateway hop a lot to find something that works correctly Smiley
Chrome seemed to work fine however.
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 899
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Firefox + default Google search on Plusnet.

See http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,130918.0
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
nbk
Grafter
Posts: 116
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-01-2015

Re: Firefox + default Google search on Plusnet.

mmm i know about that thread however on all the IPs i tried I checked the geolocation sites and all reported to be plusnet in the UK
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Firefox + default Google search on Plusnet.

try fixing it as described here https://support.google.com/websearch/answer/179386?hl=en
I changed mine to england so Google Maps works properly
nbk
Grafter
Posts: 116
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-01-2015

Re: Firefox + default Google search on Plusnet.

thanks oldjim but that doesnt resolve the issue for the default google search in firefox bar...i already had the location set to my hometown since on plus it's detected as london Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 899
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Firefox + default Google search on Plusnet.

In Firefox options, Search what do you have designated as your Default Search Engine? Mine is Google UK
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
nbk
Grafter
Posts: 116
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-01-2015

Re: Firefox + default Google search on Plusnet.

Quote from: jelv
In Firefox options, Search what do you have designated as your Default Search Engine? Mine is Google UK

there isnt actually anything like that in firefox 39 as far as i know...and it's all based on the IP google sees you from on the firefox search bar
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 899
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Firefox + default Google search on Plusnet.

I'm using Firefox 39!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Firefox + default Google search on Plusnet.

My default search option is just shown as Google (under Tools Options Search) but then again I don't use it in the location bar
Just tried it and it goes to Google UK
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Firefox + default Google search on Plusnet.

Try clearing all the caches as well.