cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Firefox Tabs

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,929
Thanks: 1,735
Fixes: 131
Registered: 14-04-2007

Firefox Tabs

I use Firefox 2.0.0.9
Does anyone know how to set Firefox to open the home page when pressing ctrl 'T' for a new tab instead of a blank page.
IE7 does this if the right box is ticked.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

14 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 930
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Firefox Tabs

I just middle click the home page icon.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,929
Thanks: 1,735
Fixes: 131
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Firefox Tabs

Quote from: jelv
I just middle click the home page icon.

jelv....you are a genius.
I didn't know about that.
Thanks very much Smiley
Edit: This is another case of read the ******* manual.
Just read about it in the Help file Embarrassed

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 930
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Firefox Tabs

Alternatively install the Tabbrowser Preferences extension
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Firefox Tabs

I use the keyboard shortcut (Ctrl-T for new tab, then Alt-home for the home page).
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,929
Thanks: 1,735
Fixes: 131
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Firefox Tabs

Thanks guys
I obviously couldn't see the wood for the trees  Embarrassed

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 930
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Firefox Tabs

Quote from: orbrey
I use the keyboard shortcut (Ctrl-T for new tab, then Alt-home for the home page).

With tabbed browser preferences you can make Ctrl-T load your home page.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Darren
Grafter
Posts: 44
Registered: 08-08-2007

Re: Firefox Tabs

Or you could try <a href="https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/4810"> Speed Dial</a> I find this very helpful.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,418
Thanks: 1,180
Fixes: 91
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Firefox Tabs

Quote from: jelv
With tabbed browser preferences you can make Ctrl-T load your home page.

Yep, that's what I use. It can be downloaded from here.
This is the setting you're looking for:

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,929
Thanks: 1,735
Fixes: 131
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Firefox Tabs

The Tabbed Browser add-on I like....thanks Grin

Customer and Forum Moderator.

minkey
Grafter
Posts: 386
Registered: 22-07-2007

Re: Firefox Tabs

I have installed Tabbed Browser add-on and I have a question about it. When you select a recently typed webpage (from the drop-down) I now have to hit the Green 'Go' Arrow button and I am sure it didn't do that before. Is there a way to auto 'go' to the web page I select from the drop down?
Jeff
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,418
Thanks: 1,180
Fixes: 91
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Firefox Tabs

Hi Jeff,
Not too sure about this one as I've the extension installed here and at home. If I disable it though, I still have to click go before I'm able to load anything from the address bar history.
I'm guessing it's a known bug. Not to sure if the add-on is still in development or has been shelved though TBH.
Another problem I noticed is after you upgrade Firefox. It forgets the setting I mentioned above and reverts back to each tab opening with a blank page. You have to go back into the config to change it.
I wonder if Firefox 3 will accommodate this functionality without the need for an add-on?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Not applicable

Re: Firefox Tabs

Quote from: Bob
...reverts back...

Aaargh - Double negatives!!!
It either reverts, or goes back - not both, since they are both the same thing. Wink
</Pedant>[me=James_H]waits for the flame war when he makes a bad grammatical error![sic][/me]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,929
Thanks: 1,735
Fixes: 131
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Firefox Tabs

NOOOOOO!!!
Don't start me off with double negatives like 'I haven't got none' Angry Angry Angry

If my daughter asked me to lend her £10 I say "I haven't got no money at all" which she takes as meaning she gets nothing and I feel better knowing I haven't lied to her. Wink

Customer and Forum Moderator.

nmercer
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: 04-06-2007

Re: Firefox Tabs

Quote from: Strat
NOOOOOO!!!
Don't start me off with double negatives like 'I haven't got none' Angry Angry Angry

Pluralised singles make me wince, such as 'Can I have one of those ones please'.