cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FF and Unresponsive script

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,441
Thanks: 2,826
Fixes: 226
Registered: 06-04-2007

FF and Unresponsive script

Often on my PC I get unresponsive script errors (see capture) but everything usually returns to normal after clicking Stop Script.
Today I kept getting this error on my laptop when trying to login to First:Utility.
In the end I used Task Manager to quit FF and any Java apps running, then on reopening FF I quickly closed the FirstCheesyirect tab.
I had no problem with Chrome.
Any ideas what is really the issue and how to prevent it in future?

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

15 REPLIES
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: FF and Unresponsive script

Is you Java up to date ?Huh
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,875
Thanks: 126
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: FF and Unresponsive script

Quote from: Mav
...I had no problem with Chrome.
Any ideas what is really the issue and how to prevent it in future?

Lead me not into temptation.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,441
Thanks: 2,826
Fixes: 226
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: FF and Unresponsive script

@TORPC. Laptop was on V7 build 65 so I am just downloading build 67.
PC is out of action for a few days as the new power supply failed. But that is still on V6 but can't remember which build as the later builds tend not to work too well with JDownloader.
Quote from: ReedRichards
Lead me not into temptation.
Don't tell me, you know the way Wink

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 480
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: FF and Unresponsive script

Java and JavaScript are not the same thing.
JavaScript is handled entirely by your web browser itself, you don't need Java installed for Firefox or Chrome to handle JavaScript. Any problems with JavaScript are likely to be due to Firefox add-ons causing problems.
Quitting any Java applications that were running on your computer, independent from Firefox, will not have any impact on what JavaScript Firefox is or isn't running.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,441
Thanks: 2,826
Fixes: 226
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: FF and Unresponsive script

Thanks, ejs.
That does explain why quitting Java had no effect Cheesy

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Community Veteran
Posts: 17,785
Thanks: 1,612
Fixes: 19
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: FF and Unresponsive script

Surprise. surprise.... Google is your friend... ( so long as you dont get "unresponsive script" warning  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/warning-unresponsive-script
Not sure I would want to go that route... but.....
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,441
Thanks: 2,826
Fixes: 226
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: FF and Unresponsive script

ll was ok after updating to the latest version until I tried to login to First:Utility again where the same thing happened.
Never used to happen on the PC but maybe something has changed in their site. Should be getting the PC back later today so will test that later.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Community Veteran
Posts: 17,785
Thanks: 1,612
Fixes: 19
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: FF and Unresponsive script

For a few days now... I have had the same problem...but not had it today... YET ! ... Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,875
Thanks: 126
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: FF and Unresponsive script

Witnessed the same problem today on a client's computer.  Obviously just a buggy version of Firefox so either wait for the next one or switch to something that works (like Chrome). 
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,441
Thanks: 2,826
Fixes: 226
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: FF and Unresponsive script

There are many things about FF I like but the memory leaks and Javascript issues is making me think again. Maybe I'll revert back to IE Cheesy

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Razer
Grafter
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 6
Registered: 17-11-2012

Re: FF and Unresponsive script

Or you could always switch to Pale Moon. All the flexibility of FF with addons/plugins as you prefer, but without the crap and destruction that the FF team have turned FF into.
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,785
Thanks: 1,612
Fixes: 19
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: FF and Unresponsive script

WARNING.... there may be a "dodgy" .exe file on that linky.....
I clicked on the download box, gave me a .exe file to save.... when trying to execute it... my laptop "froze"... the mouse cursor moved but the buttons did not function.... had to shut down with the power button..... restart "windows normally"... still the mouse buttons did not work... removed the mouse and inserted it again... managed to "restart" ( re-boot ).. and now seems to be working ok...
Razer
Grafter
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 6
Registered: 17-11-2012

Re: FF and Unresponsive script

I seriously doubt it, though of course it's always possible any exe from any site could be interfered with. You can always submit downloaded files to https://www.virustotal.com/uk/ for scanning by multiple engines. I've never had a single file (including every Pale Moon version d/l) with anything wrong with it.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,385
Thanks: 715
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: FF and Unresponsive script

I get this problem every day on ebay.co.uk... buy it, love it, sell it Wink
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!