Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dual Boot Vista XP

Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

Dual Boot Vista XP

I am nearly at the point of building my next PC (all bits due for delivery this week) but i would like a bit of guidance.
I intend to install Vista 64 bit and once that is running properly recycle the parts from my old computer. At this point I will be adding XP to the new computer (transferring the license) in dual boot mode. In itself that isn't a problem although getting the Vista boot back again is a bit messy.
My problem is that I have never used dual boot before and I have no idea as to the disk space for each boot partition. I was thinking of allowing 100GB for the Vista partition and 50GB for the XP partition leaving about 300GB for data and games which would only be used on one or other of the systems. Would there be any real advantage in creating a 4th partition only for swap files or should I stay with my usual system of manually setting the swap file with a minimum size of about 8GB (installed ram 4GB)
Some of my programmes would need to run under both systems which would need two separate installs but 50GB in XP should be OK for that.
12 REPLIES 12
orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)

Re: Dual Boot Vista XP

I'd say it's worth adding the swap partition. You can have 4 primary partitions on one disk, so there's no problem there, and both XP and Vista could share the same swap partition. I do find that my computer runs happier (and needs defragging less often) if the swap file has its own partition.
Not applicable

If you are looking for performance gains at the same time (and who isn't?!?!) it might be worth getting a seperate HDD to use for your swap files.
At least that way the swap files can be accessed at the same time as accessing program files/dlls/data files or whatever on your other hdd.