Did you mean: 

Domain Name Server

FIXED
mort7890
Pro
Fixes: 4

Re: Domain Name Server

Hi @MisterW 

Many thanks for the links, I have read them and I understand a little (that is dangerous in this situation) however am I correct in the following please.

A records

Left Field    currentdomainname.co.uk less www   in the right field the IP address to point to

CNAME  

Left Field newhost.newsite.com to point to less www     in the right field currentdomainname.co.uk

I think I am reading the instruction like this and hope you do not mind clarifying for me.

Regards

mort7890
Pro

Hi @MisterW 

Just spotted the note about a full stop so presume I need to remove and redo.

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 385

@mort7890  i dont think you have that right!.

Im no expert in the legacy DNS system but from what I understand:-

For both A and CNAME the left field is just the name of the host ( or subdomain ) of your domainname.

For an A record the right field is the IP address that <leftfield>.domainname resovles to

A CNAME is effectively an alias so that <leftfield>.domainname resolves to <rightfield> , the result of which must also have an A record.

To change where your website is accessed, as I understand , you need an A record with leftfield of www and then right filked the IP address where your website is to be accessed. I dont see that you need any CNAME records.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Alex
Community Veteran
Fixes: 13

Yup @MisterW again I am no expert on this subject, but from (the little) I know about DNS what you're saying sounds about right to me.