cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Degraded service since moving to John Lewis as ISP (Supported by Plusnet of course!)

Trident3
Dabbler

Degraded service since moving to John Lewis as ISP (Supported by Plusnet of course!)

Hello all,

I used to be with Plusnet at my current address and was getting a nice download speed of around 15MB/s which I was happy with.

Just over a year ago, Plusnet decided to increase prices to what I thought was too much. I looked for another ISP and John Lewis were offering a good deal, so I went to them whilst knowing I was really still with Plusnet. Around the same time a storm damaged our drop cable from the street pole to the house and BT came out and replaced it with an identical type - I know because I was talking to the engineer as he was replacing it and being a retired electronics engineer I was interested in what he was doing.

After the changeover of ISP to JL, the speed was slow at around 5MB/s and I raised the issue with JL support. They assured me it would settle down to the same speed as it was with Plusnet after the training period, as nothing had physically changed. Well it never really improved, but we forgot it and just lived with it.

A few months ago I noticed a lot of buffering and lack of response from the router when "Surfing". A speed test using Broadband Speed Checker and the BT Wholesale ones showed speeds of 2 to 3MB/s with ping times of nearly 1 second. I considered these values as not acceptable and contacted JL support to get it sorted and that's where the problems began.

JL say according to their tests the line cannot support the speed I reported I was getting when I was with Plusnet, because the current line properties won't allow it. Funnily enough, there is a comment on the log stating the settings at the exchange were set too high and that's what's been causing some of the problems, so they've reduced the settings to provide a more stable connection!