cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Debian

Waldo
Grafter
Posts: 473
Registered: 01-08-2007

Debian

Debian 6.0 "Squeeze" released.
"Wheezy" is the new testing release.
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Debian

I've already updated 2 out of 3 of my Lenny boxes this morning.
One day there will be an easier way that doesn't involve editing /etc/apt/sources.list (or just using "stable" rather than the release name).
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
Ben_Brown
Grafter
Posts: 2,839
Registered: 13-06-2007

Re: Debian

You can use stable rather than the release name. You might not want to do that however, if you've not noticed a new release come out then you might have unintended results from your updating.
Also editing one file and running one command isn't much to ask to completely upgrade your operating system, especially if you are au fait with sed... Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Debian

:%s/lenny/squeeze/g in vim should also do the trick.
It was more of an ironic grumble than owt else Smiley
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
Mattz0r
Rising Star
Posts: 620
Fixes: 1
Registered: 21-07-2010

Re: Debian

Woot, Just updating my 2 servers Smiley

Home Server:
494 upgraded, 182 newly installed, 10 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 429MB of archives.
After this operation, 353MB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]?

Paris Server:
387 upgraded, 100 newly installed, 8 to remove and 1 not upgraded.
Need to get 316MB of archives.
After this operation, 118MB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]?

Not bad Tongue Will take a few seconds on my paris server (100Mbit) its half way done already! Cheesy

EDIT: Bind has decided it wants to break Sad
rndc-confgen: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libdns.so.69: undefined symbol: GeoIP_country_code_by_ipnum_v6
dpkg: error processing bind9 (--configure):
subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 127
configured to not write apport reports
                                      Errors were encountered while processing:
bind9
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
quad:~#

Oh the joys. Any ideas?
Ben_Brown
Grafter
Posts: 2,839
Registered: 13-06-2007

Re: Debian

Looks like it's missing a library, or it's not where it expects it to be. Debian is usually very good at sorting out dependencies though, so it's a bit odd.
You could take this as an opportunity to get rid of bind and move to something more modern, like powerdns or unbound. They both use resources smarter and perform better than bind, and can also support more flexible backends (such as mysql, ldap etc).
Mattz0r
Rising Star
Posts: 620
Fixes: 1
Registered: 21-07-2010

Re: Debian

Thanks, Going to have a look-see at PowerDNS - See if I can figure that stuff out Smiley
A lot of the configs on the server, especially the home one, were naffed up, i.e. my pop3/imap server is now borked because the config is generating errors. I think i have to do it from scratch Sad