cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

D-Link G624T router

stevesmith

D-Link G624T router

Evening all,
I'm stuck, as per !!! I recently installed the above router which was provided by Plusnet. I wrongly changed the name of SSID. Does that  make it any easier for anyone to access my wireless network?  Or have access to data held on my PC?
I have tried to find out how to change it back by looking in the manual and on the intruction disc provided but no luck.
The thing that worries me is it is showing UNSECURED network.
Anyone able to tell me how to change the SSID name back, if I need to, and how to make the wireless network secure.
I'm new to the world of PC's if you had not already guessed !!!!!
Many thanks,
Steve.
9 REPLIES 9
pierre_pierre
Grafter

Re: D-Link G624T router

its not the ssid that makes it unsecured its the absence of WEP or WPA Encryption
shutter
Community Veteran
Fixes: 65

So how does that help him pierre?  he has already said he is "new to computers" and asked for help in making his router secure.  just to say

its the absence of WEP or WPA Encryption

Is not really helpful......
Oh and by the way,  I don`t know the answer either, so it might just help me too.  Roll_eyes
HPsauce
Pro
Fixes: 2

To be honest, the best thing to do is phone PlusNet support; they'll talk you through setting it up securely.
Here's a few tips:
1. You'll need a name (SSID) for your network - pick one that you will recognise but will not link obviously to you or your home.
2. You'll need a security key for your network. It doesn't really matter if you write it down somewhere for reference as many routers come pre-configured with it on a label.