cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting NAS Box (Thecus N2200 EVO)

carolejason
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-09-2016

Connecting NAS Box (Thecus N2200 EVO)

We've just moved to PlusNet as our ISP and our NAS box (Thecus N2200 EVO) no longer connects. I think it something to do with IP addresses but that's the extent of my technical ability. Any ideas? We're using the router which plusnet supplied us with.

19 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: Connecting NAS Box (Thecus N2200 EVO)

in what way is not connecting?
it probably is connected but just has a different IP address now that you are using a different router.
find out what the IP address is from the router.
carolejason
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-09-2016

Re: Connecting NAS Box (Thecus N2200 EVO)

It just says connection path not found, connection is not restored

If I find the router IP what do I then need to do?!

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: Connecting NAS Box (Thecus N2200 EVO)

you need to log on to the router admin page, and then find out what IP address has been assigned to the NAS.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,359
Thanks: 1,899
Fixes: 178
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Connecting NAS Box (Thecus N2200 EVO)

I use this network scanner as a lazy way to find device IP addresses.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 64.0 (64-bit)

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,746
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Connecting NAS Box (Thecus N2200 EVO)

Is the NAS box configured with a fixed IP address or is it configured to get it's IP from DHCP?

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,915
Thanks: 139
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: Connecting NAS Box (Thecus N2200 EVO)

Given the problem, it's more likely to be the former rather than the latter.

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: Connecting NAS Box (Thecus N2200 EVO)

not necessarily.
the new router might be giving out IP addresses on a different range compared to the previous router.
so even is the NAS was DHCP you'd still end up with the same problem.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,915
Thanks: 139
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: Connecting NAS Box (Thecus N2200 EVO)

I don't follow that line of thought at all, @chenks76.  You're saying if the IP address of the NAS used to be, say, 192.168.0.x and now it's, say, 192.168.1.x then it wouldn't work?  Why not?  A decent modern printer could cope with this, why not a NAS?

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: Connecting NAS Box (Thecus N2200 EVO)

Because the shortcut or mapped drive being used will still point to the old IP address regardless if it has a static or dhcp address.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,915
Thanks: 139
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: Connecting NAS Box (Thecus N2200 EVO)

That doesn't make sense, @chenks76 .  If you are using a mapping to a particular IP address then you cannot use DHCP.  You can achieve a fixed IP address by setting it on the device or by setting an override on the router (which would be SHCP, I guess) but it's the same either way.

 

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: Connecting NAS Box (Thecus N2200 EVO)

yes you can.
you can map to any IP address, there would be nothing stopping you from doing it.
as long as the device never picked up a new IP address then the end-user would be none the wiser.

based on the questions and comments from the OP, it would seem unlikely that any static IP address had been set.
if they had the knowledge to do that then surely they would have the knowledge to know why it's no longer working on a new router.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,690
Thanks: 1,568
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: Connecting NAS Box (Thecus N2200 EVO)

On Windows when you map an external drive it is mapped to a computer name as can be seen using

c:>net view

from a command line. But that of course means that name must map to a physical machine which implies that the name used is resolved using DNS.

So if you have a mapped drive of \\MyLaptop\Music, MyLaptop may resolve to 192.168.0.5 but if you then change the LAN addressing to say 192.168.1.X then this should resolve too the share. But I know from experience that this doesn't always work as I think the IP address is stored locally in the registry so I have found the the best approach is to delete the share and re-map it.

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,746
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Connecting NAS Box (Thecus N2200 EVO)

My bet is that the IP address was assigned by the setup routines when the box was bought and that the new router is on a different subnet to the old router.

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: Connecting NAS Box (Thecus N2200 EVO)


@Mook wrote:

On Windows when you map an external drive it is mapped to a computer name


not entirely true.
you can just as easily map a drive using just the IP name, there is no requirement to use the FQDN or any other device name.