cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting Mac to PC on network?

IanSn
Rising Star

Connecting Mac to PC on network?

Total idiot network noob here. (This is probably even in the wrong forum, sorry)
Had Mac and PC on at same time, both connected to the wireless.
Message came up on Mac it wanted to talk to ians-PC.lan on 139. (Don't even know what this means... anyone?)
Have made no attempt in the past for these to talk to each other but got me wondering if I can exchange files (securely!) between the two computers. Would be handy. (PC is horrible Vista, btw)
There's certainly no sign anywhere that either know each other are there apart from the security software on the Mac telling me (the above).
Have now looked at networking options on both computers and don't understand a word of it.
Given that, is it likely I can actually do this with relative ease or should I just hang my head in shame and forget it?
cheers,
IanS
11 REPLIES 11
Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

Re: Connecting Mac to PC on network?

IanSn
Rising Star

Many thanks Oldjim, buuut....  Embarrassed
Did you read the comments that followed the article?
Easy setup on the Mac, but Vista wont recognise anything.
It always surprises me that the second thing that was ever done with computers was networking them, yet its still a nightmare. It should be easy by now. Why so impenetrable?
Oh, well...
Back to the memory stick  Grin
dvorak
Fixes: 1,482

The easiest was to share the files between the two would be to get a NAS (Network Attached Storage) You can use a filesystem that both the Mac and PC can use and makes a convenient transfer and backup tool.
Also look at things like dropbox and box.net, both cloud based solutions to help share files between devices.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
IanSn
Rising Star

Thanks dvorak,
sorry, would NAS be an external drive? I guess so -- I'll look this up later.