cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting Laptop to TV

coastergrotto
Grafter

Connecting Laptop to TV

I recently purchased a Belkin Pro Series High Integrity VGA/SVGA Monitor Replacement Cable 5 meters (male to male) to connect my laptop to my TV .  I didn't purchase the Stereo plug as I wanted to see if the VGA cable worked first of all.   
I have tried the cable on both my Dell laptops, one running XP and one running Vista connecting it to my Sharpe Aquos 37" LCD TV but get no image at all from the laptop on the TV.  Obviously I have the TV set to TV input and all I get on the TV screen is PC Input - No signal.      I emailed Belkin support  explaining this but all they said was the cable must be faulty and I should return it.    I'm convinced that I am doing something wrong so I'm just hoping that someone can come up with a solution.
5 REPLIES 5
Njal
Grafter

Re: Connecting Laptop to TV

I have no direct experience of this, and the hardware below is different, but the site below may give some clues:
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080615144131AAcZwbS
Regards,
Neil
jazz
Grafter

That's helpful!!  I tried to connect my Sony Laptop to my Sony LCD TV last week for the first time and got the same problem.  I realised I had to "push" the video out of the laptop somehow but wasn't sure how.  Thanks for your question coastergrotto!.  I'll try the answers given on the link suggested by Njal.
coastergrotto
Grafter

Thanks for that link.  I'm away from home at the moment and tried it on my friend's Samsung TV last night with the same result - no picture.
Once I tried it using the Fn button and the  CRT/LCD button, which is F8 on this laptop, it didn't work at first and then suddenly - WOW - it did.  I don't know which button actually activated it  but no matter I have a spendid picture.    Pretty good value for the £7.57 delivered price I paid for it.      Now I will order the sound cable.