cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Compaq Presario C series and Vista - problems getting online

Feralgirl

Compaq Presario C series and Vista - problems getting online

I'm not technical at all but I'm posting this after two weeks of screaming at my compaq laptop for refusing to speak to a variety of routers (zyxel and D-link) and thus not being able to get online. I found out from this useful link that some routers have a firewall that prevents use of IPV6 which is default on Vista - if you disable it according to the instructions on this link then you can configure the router (previously it was impossible to install the router and all Vista help would tell me was to make sure IPV 6 WAS selected, groan) and get online. Hurrah.
http://support.thetechguys.com/layout.aspx?ID={e0b2a509-becd-4c42-8080-7bfbe39e04b2}&CatID={78e155a3...
Hope this helps someone preserve more of their sanity than I have done.  I'm not sure if it is computer specific (the onboard card Realtek 810) or to do with the external router - as I said, I'm a technical duh-brain...
Moderators note by James_H : Fixed URL Wink
2 REPLIES 2
samuria
Grafter

Re: Compaq Presario C series and Vista - problems getting online

Its very doubtful if IPV 6 is the problem or we would have seen it on the forums before and we havent. Vista has ip4 as well and I have never had any problems with any routers.
Explain what the problem is so we can help.
You plug the router in to the telephone and you plug your pc into the router with a network cable does th erouter show a ADSL light.
Next step is to connect to the router by typing in the ip address of the router into IE.
You should then get a page were you setup the router with your password username etc can you get this far
. Once that is done you connect to the net.
We need to know the make model of the router and any error messages.