cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cloning laptop hd to larger capacity hd.

Pete11
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 895
Thanks: 261
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎17-02-2017

Cloning laptop hd to larger capacity hd.

I am seriously considering swapping my laptop hard drive for one with a larger capacity and cloning OS and everything else across. Having done some reading up, it seems I have to leave the old drive in the laptop and link the new one via USB but am a bit stumped as how to link it up being as obviously it's an internal drive. So the question is..how is this done?

Secondly, Which programme would be better to use when I haven't done this before except once using DriveClone and that was back in early XP days. I have been told that DriveImage or Clonezilla are both good...but what do you think?

A float tip is pleasing in its appearance and even more pleasing in its disappearance.
Growing old is inevitable...But growing up is optional.
16 REPLIES 16
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,509
Thanks: 6,299
Fixes: 1,459
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Cloning laptop hd to larger capacity hd.

I'd go with CloneZilla Smiley
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Pete11
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 895
Thanks: 261
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎17-02-2017

Re: Cloning laptop hd to larger capacity hd.

@dvorak

Thanks for your input on the software, but how do I attach the new hd to usb?. By the way, I checked in the BIOS and I don't have the option to boot from USB, it's either HD or Disc.  Undecided

A float tip is pleasing in its appearance and even more pleasing in its disappearance.
Growing old is inevitable...But growing up is optional.
jaread83
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 3,438
Thanks: 2,337
Fixes: 81
Registered: ‎22-02-2016

Re: Cloning laptop hd to larger capacity hd.

When I was an engineer we used a device to connect internal HDDs via usb. It basically converts your HDD to be a USB HDD without an enclosure.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/USB-SATA-Adapter-Cable-Drives-en-GB-SATA-USB-3-0-converter/dp/B01N2JIQR7/re...

Some computers have ESATA which just requires a cable that will plug in to a port directly to the HDD.

Frontend Web Developer | www.plus.net

If you have an idea to improve the community, create a new topic on our Community Feedback board to start a discussion about your idea.

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,509
Thanks: 6,299
Fixes: 1,459
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Cloning laptop hd to larger capacity hd.

I use an adapter similar to the one @jaread83 shared Smiley
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
jaread83
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 3,438
Thanks: 2,337
Fixes: 81
Registered: ‎22-02-2016

Re: Cloning laptop hd to larger capacity hd.

price point of £5.99 is a lot cheaper than when I got my IDE to USB converter back in 2004!

Frontend Web Developer | www.plus.net

If you have an idea to improve the community, create a new topic on our Community Feedback board to start a discussion about your idea.

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,146
Thanks: 824
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Cloning laptop hd to larger capacity hd.

I used a similar conversion kit fro SanDisk, it cost me a lot less than this one but not many people seem to sell them now:https://www.amazon.co.uk/SanDisk-SDSSDCK-AAA-G27-SSD-Conversion-Kit/dp/B008ZIO1CW

 

jaread83
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 3,438
Thanks: 2,337
Fixes: 81
Registered: ‎22-02-2016

Re: Cloning laptop hd to larger capacity hd.

As a side note, I used to use Norton Ghost at an enterprise level but it looks like the software has now been discontinued. I had a look at Clonezilla and this looks perfect for a single machine clone/backup/restore solution.

Frontend Web Developer | www.plus.net

If you have an idea to improve the community, create a new topic on our Community Feedback board to start a discussion about your idea.

Pete11
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 895
Thanks: 261
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎17-02-2017

Re: Cloning laptop hd to larger capacity hd.

Cheers guys, just been looking at some enclosures on Amazon, and from £3.99 it looks like they got a sale. Also been looking at CloneZilla and a couple of other progs...still not sure which to go for yet though.

A float tip is pleasing in its appearance and even more pleasing in its disappearance.
Growing old is inevitable...But growing up is optional.
jaread83
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 3,438
Thanks: 2,337
Fixes: 81
Registered: ‎22-02-2016

Re: Cloning laptop hd to larger capacity hd.

If you get to the point where you have cloned the HDD and plugged it in to boot up and it doesn't work... you can always put the old HDD back in and try something else Smiley

Frontend Web Developer | www.plus.net

If you have an idea to improve the community, create a new topic on our Community Feedback board to start a discussion about your idea.

Pete11
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 895
Thanks: 261
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎17-02-2017

Re: Cloning laptop hd to larger capacity hd.

@jaread83

That's a good point. DriveClone was very easy to use and it also managed the size of the partitions (if any) automatically. Will have another look at CloneZilla.

EDIT.

DriveClone  now has a free version AND now works in Win7. Happy days.  Cheesy

A float tip is pleasing in its appearance and even more pleasing in its disappearance.
Growing old is inevitable...But growing up is optional.
jaread83
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 3,438
Thanks: 2,337
Fixes: 81
Registered: ‎22-02-2016

Re: Cloning laptop hd to larger capacity hd.

Let us know how it goes!

Frontend Web Developer | www.plus.net

If you have an idea to improve the community, create a new topic on our Community Feedback board to start a discussion about your idea.

wisty
Pro
Posts: 591
Thanks: 112
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Cloning laptop hd to larger capacity hd.

If you get an enclosure, after cloning and swapping the hard drive in the laptop, stick the old one in the enclosure and use it as a backup device.

Pete11
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 895
Thanks: 261
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎17-02-2017

Re: Cloning laptop hd to larger capacity hd.

@wisty

I was thinking the same. It'll come in handy for storing a few bits and bobs. I do have an external but that's not far off full, having said that it's only a 250 gig.

A float tip is pleasing in its appearance and even more pleasing in its disappearance.
Growing old is inevitable...But growing up is optional.
ReedRichards
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 4,927
Thanks: 145
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: Cloning laptop hd to larger capacity hd.

Have you considered cloning your hard drive to one of a smaller capacity?  Replacing a conventional electro-mechanical hard drive with an SSD can do wonders for the performance.  But SSDs are a lot more expensive per unit of capacity than old-fashioned hard drives.