cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cloning Linux SSD

FIXED
bmc
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,348
Thanks: 648
Fixes: 28
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Cloning Linux SSD

Does anybody know if it's possible to clone a Linux SSD using Windows?

 

The program I have, ToDo Backup, doesn't recognise the Linux SSD format.

 

I have a new, back up computer that came without an operating system. I know it boots the SSD I have as I've tried it but I want to transfer things to a larger SSD. Unfortunately it only has one SSD slot.

 

Thanks

 

Brian

6 REPLIES 6
DaveyH
Champion
Posts: 1,946
Thanks: 465
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎15-11-2012

Re: Cloning Linux SSD

Fix

Clonezilla?

It's croos-platform and supports most file systems,

https://clonezilla.org/

 

If you have a spare USB stick you could even use the live/bootable version, or any other Linux distro come to that...

VileReynard
Hero
Posts: 12,613
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Cloning Linux SSD

The destination SSD/disk has to be at least as large as the source SSD on Clonezilla.

Using it as we speak...

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,593
Thanks: 981
Fixes: 54
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Cloning Linux SSD

Give Macrium Reflect a try, there's a free version for non-commercial use.

bmc
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,348
Thanks: 648
Fixes: 28
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Cloning Linux SSD

@DaveyH 

Thanks - this worked.

 

Didn't like IE11 for the download but once I switched to FireFox got it no problem. Installed on a USB drive and ran. Thankfully my 3 SSD drives were of different sizes - Linux was 124gb, my Win7 install was 250gb and the target SSD was 500gb so I was easily able to identify which one to clone and where to clone to without affecting Win7. Wouldn't want to use this on a regular basis though.

 

SSD now installed in my Intel NUC machine and working. Have managed to sort GNU Grub out as well so all's well.

 

Brian

wisty
Pro
Posts: 591
Thanks: 112
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Cloning Linux SSD


@bmc wrote:

Unfortunately it only has one SSD slot.

 

 I keep a USB3 - SATA cable in my bits box for times like this. If you only want to support 2.5" disks then a cheap one without power supply (<£5 from Fleabay) will do. A few quid more gets one with a 12v PSU that will let you attach a 3.5" drive. 

I have used them in the past when presented with a dead PC to  get the data off the disk.

bmc
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,348
Thanks: 648
Fixes: 28
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Cloning Linux SSD

@wisty 

Interesting - while I'm fixed for now I'll keep this in mind for the future.

 

Brian