cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ClearOS

seanbranagh
Grafter

ClearOS

I wanted a good all round firewall/gateway solution that could sit on my connection and do all the things I need with my /27 subnet, my LAN, my Citrix VM's, and wireless bridge to friends house etc.
I bought a 1U HP Prolient, P4, 2Gb ram from ebay for £48 and added a second dual NIC to it so it now has 4 gigabit interfaces. It is a nice little server for the money.
Then I started playing with Smoothwall Express, very quickly found out that it cannot meet my needs.
I then discovered ClearOS and have only just started playing with it and I have one word;
NICE!
and it is also Red Hat based, even better!
9 REPLIES 9
Waldo
Grafter

Re: ClearOS

I think a few people here (HB, for example) have used it in its previous guise as ClarkConnect.
HairyMcbiker
All Star
Fixes: 21

Your right I used CC for about a year after I retired my Smoothwall box due to not really needing a firewall any more  Wink
I used in the standalone config, as a mail server, web proxy etc. It was a good product but I needed to save power so moved my email to the cloud (now hosted by google as a webmail account (not gmail but my own domain pointed to google as the mail server), this was when my mail exceeded 0.5Gb and cheep hosting was getting expensive (relative I could have run a home server again for the cost) - Google is free hosting.
I have an old HP Prolient server (or two  :P) in the attic but they are not very power efficient beasts, one has at-least SIX big fans running in it and a raid 5 array of HP 10K SCSI drives (Unfortunately only 9Gb ones) with a DLT tape backup (all of 40Gb  :-[) I ran that as a mail server for a few years but as leccy prices went UP I had to switch it off. I used to build servers based on the 1/2/6U boxes and they were quite reliable once you got them commissioned. The ILO's were a god send with 100+ servers in the data centre to look after.
seanbranagh
Grafter