cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cisco 837 sync rate

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,236
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Cisco 837 sync rate

After 3 days working with CIOS through the command line I have now got my Cisco 837 operational. Still some work to do and I do have some issues which I will post about in time but firstly the big issue. I have just lost about 30Kb/s of my download speed (230Kb/s down to 200Kb/s) as the router is syncing at a much lower speed with the exchange than my Netgear DG834 did. I have noticed this with other routers/modems I have tried on my line before. I am questioning if this loss of bandwidth is worth it against the advantages I should now have with this router?
7 REPLIES
win2003
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎05-08-2007

Re: Cisco 837 sync rate

It's not an ADSL2 router so you may be retiring it soon... However, when I was running an 837 it was rock solid and having a later IOS version may help with some problems. I also found ifm's config wizard useful for a starting point.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,236
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Cisco 837 sync rate

According to the O2 website who already have LLU at me exchange I live too far out for ADSL2. What Cisco router whould be next in line that does support ADSL2 anyway?
The issues I still have I beleive can be resolved be editing the config as I have already resolved most issues by doing this. One of the 2 main issues remaining is that the DHCP server is not working.
The second issue is an issue that I have had with other routers in the past apart from my Netgear. I have a web server (address below). I also have ftp accounts on this server for a couple of friends. From within my network I am unable to get to this server via its domain name but it works fine from another connection. If I set up an ftp account for a friend with address ftp.domain.com I am unable to test it properly without using a different connection. With the Netgear I could use the external address from inside my LAN. If you click on my servers website address listed below it will work but for me it will not.
Is this something I can fix in the config? If not would it be good enough proof for Plus Net to give me a second IP address?
The config as it stands is listed below:
837#sh run
Building configuration...
Current configuration : 1785 bytes
!
version 12.2
no service pad
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname 837
!
logging queue-limit 100
enable secret 5 $1$EOf2$2.0ZaeTAGaaj04oYxLhAa1
!
username XXXXXXXXXXX privilege 15 password 0 XXXXXXXXXX
no ip subnet-zero
ip name-server 212.159.6.9
ip name-server 212.159.6.10
ip dhcp excluded-address 192.168.10.31
!
ip dhcp pool DPA
   network 192.168.10.0 255.255.255.0
   default-router 192.168.10.31
!
ip dhcp pool DBA
   dns-server 212.152.6.9 212.152.6.10
!
!
ip audit notify log
ip audit po max-events 100
no ftp-server write-enable
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
interface Ethernet0
ip address 192.168.10.31 255.255.255.0
ip nat inside
hold-queue 100 out
!
interface ATM0
no ip address
no atm ilmi-keepalive
pvc 0/38
  encapsulation aal5mux ppp dialer
  dialer pool-member 1
!
dsl operating-mode auto
snmp ifindex persist
hold-queue 224 in
!
interface Dialer1
ip address negotiated
ip mtu 1420
ip nat outside
encapsulation ppp
dialer pool 1
dialer-group 1
snmp ifindex persist
ppp authentication chap callin
ppp chap hostname XXXXXXXXXX@plusdsl.net
ppp chap password 0 XXXXXXXXXX
!
ip nat inside source list 1 interface Dialer1 overload
ip nat inside source static tcp 192.168.10.39 80 interface Dialer1 80
ip nat inside source static tcp 192.168.10.39 20 interface Dialer1 20
ip nat inside source static tcp 192.168.10.39 21 interface Dialer1 21
ip nat inside source static tcp 192.168.10.38 2020 interface Dialer1 2020
ip classless
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 Dialer1
no ip http server
no ip http secure-server
ip dns server
!
access-list 1 permit 192.168.10.0 0.0.0.255
!
line con 0
no modem enable
stopbits 1
line aux 0
stopbits 1
line vty 0 4
login
!
scheduler max-task-time 5000
!
end
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,236
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Cisco 837 sync rate

I have now got the DHCP server working perfectly. One issue remains. I am still unable to access services on my network using their web address from my connection. i.e. I cannot get to www.seanbranagh.ie
This is vital to me for testing purposes. If my Netgear done it by default surely the Cisco will do it. Anyone know what I need to include in the config?
I have opened a ticket with PN explaining my situation and requested a second IP but I really don't think I will get it based on that!
win2003
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎05-08-2007

Re: Cisco 837 sync rate

Cisco calls this "loopback" feature "Inside to Inside NAT" and was supported in IOS versions 12.3(11)YS and later.
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/ios/12_3/12_3y/release/notes/rn800ys.html#wp68417
The Cisco 857 & 877 (wireless optional) supports ADSL2+ Annex A (Annex M models are available but only very recently).
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps380/prod_models_comparison.html
I did try an 857 on my ADSL2 line and it was less stable than the 837. Firmware updates helped a little but I wasn't impressed... Too expensive for what you get - I'm currently using a BT 2700HGV bought on eBay.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,236
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Cisco 837 sync rate

Thanks for the help. My router only has 12.2 at the minute and to get a newer version I would have to set up an account with Cisco. Plus Net have agreed to give me a block of 4 IPs which will solve the problem anyway once I work out how to configure this on the router.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,236
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Cisco 837 sync rate

OK, Now I am pulling my hair out. Plus net gave me 4 IP addresses and I have managed purely through trial and error to get my 2 servers running on one IP address and everything else on another address. I done this by creating two seperate connections Dialer1 and Dialer2. I was hoping that this would operate like two entirely seperate connections but I am still unable to get to either of my servers using the external address from within my network despite being on a different IP. The current config is below which I made up as I went along. I have also included a picture of my main computer and one of my servers (Windows server in a vnc window) proving that they are operating on different IP addresses. I cannot upgrade to 12.3 to use loopback as I can only register a guest account with Cisco.
837#sh run
Building configuration...
Current configuration : 2418 bytes
!
version 12.2
no service pad
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname 837
!
logging queue-limit 100
enable secret 5 XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
!
username XXXXXXXXXX privilege 15 password 0 XXXXXXXXXX
no ip subnet-zero
ip name-server 212.159.6.9
ip name-server 212.159.6.10
ip dhcp excluded-address 192.168.10.1 192.168.10.40
ip dhcp excluded-address 192.168.10.50 192.168.10.255
!
ip dhcp pool DPA
  network 192.168.10.0 255.255.255.0
  default-router 192.168.10.31
  dns-server 192.168.10.31
!
!
ip audit notify log
ip audit po max-events 100
no ftp-server write-enable
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
interface Ethernet0
ip address 192.168.10.31 255.255.255.0
ip nat inside
hold-queue 100 out
!
interface ATM0
no ip address
no atm ilmi-keepalive
pvc 0/38
  encapsulation aal5mux ppp dialer
  dialer pool-member 1
!
dsl operating-mode auto
snmp ifindex persist
hold-queue 224 in
!
interface Dialer1
ip address 212.159.24.241 255.255.255.252
ip mtu 1420
ip nat outside
encapsulation ppp
dialer pool 1
dialer-group 1
snmp ifindex persist
ppp authentication chap callin
ppp chap hostname XXXXXXXXXX@plusdsl.net
ppp chap password 0 XXXXXXXX
!
interface Dialer2
ip address 212.159.24.242 255.255.255.252
ip mtu 1420
ip nat outside
encapsulation ppp
dialer pool 2
dialer-group 2
snmp ifindex persist
ppp authentication chap callin
ppp chap hostname XXXXXXXXXX@plusdsl.net
ppp chap password 0 XXXXXXXX
!
ip nat inside source list 1 interface Dialer1 overload
ip nat inside source list 2 interface Dialer2 overload
ip nat inside source static tcp 192.168.10.39 80 interface Dialer2 80
ip nat inside source static tcp 192.168.10.39 20 interface Dialer2 20
ip nat inside source static tcp 192.168.10.39 21 interface Dialer2 21
ip nat inside source static tcp 192.168.10.38 2020 interface Dialer2 2020
ip nat inside source static tcp 192.168.10.38 75 interface Dialer2 75
ip classless
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 Dialer1
no ip http server
no ip http secure-server
ip dns server
!
access-list 1 deny  192.168.10.38
access-list 1 deny  192.168.10.39
access-list 1 permit 192.168.10.0 0.0.0.255
access-list 2 permit 192.168.10.38
access-list 2 permit 192.168.10.39
access-list 2 deny  192.168.10.0 0.0.0.255
!
line con 0
no modem enable
stopbits 1
line aux 0
stopbits 1
line vty 0 4
login
!
scheduler max-task-time 5000
!
end
DuncanMossop
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎26-05-2009

Re: Cisco 837 sync rate

Hi Sean,
Not sure if you've resolved this already of if your still battering your head but I thought I might try and help a little.
First of all Delete your interface Dialer2 (you don't need it despite the fact it works).
Remove the following:
ip nat inside source list 1 interface Dialer1 overload
ip nat inside source list 2 interface Dialer2 overload

and replace with:
ip nat pool WAN-ADDR 212.159.24.241 212.159.24.242 prefix-length 30 (defines a pool of useable External IP addresses for Outside interface).
ip nat inside source list 1 pool WAN-ADDR overload (tells your nat pool which access-list to match traffic to in this case Access-list 1 for outbound use ).
Now the way you did your port forwarding before was to include port numbers in your NAT translations, which is one approach.
The second is to define only your NAT translation in the NAT rule, and use an access-list to control what traffic flows in and out.
For example an inside port forward of HTTPS from an external to internal host:
ip nat inside source static 192.168.10.39 212.159.24.241 extendable (all inbound traffic for 212.159.24.241 goes to 192.168.10.39)
Now the access-list to control inbound traffic flow (applied to the defined outside interface -- Dialer1).
int Dialer1
ip access-group 101 in
ip access-list ext 101
permit tcp any host 212.159.24.241 eq 443
deny ip any any
(this is at the bottom of the list to deny any unmatched traffic).
Any problems with the above feel free to ask me any questions?
Dunc,